Elevated position: shoot high or low?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Elevated position: shoot high or low?

Ok, so I'm still a little new to bow hunting and I have a question.

When shooting from an elevation position (say about 20'-0), will you shoot high or low? I realize the angle distance is greater than the straight-line distance so I would think you would shoot low, but I have heard that you would end up shooting high (aim low).

So what is the verdict?

I tried hunting out fo the tree last year, but never got an arrow off (so no personal experience). I'm planning to place an arrow this year and I want to make sure I don't miss.

Always shoot low...uphill, downhill, always shoot low...unless you're shooting trad.

Comment

If you are elevated, bend at the waist and aim dead on. You also need to practice shooting elevated. Get in your stand or on your house and shoot your target. If you stand straight up and just lower your arms you will shoot high. This is because you are changing the angle in which you look through your peep. If you bend at the waist everything stays the same and you can hold dead on.
      Last edited by tgridley; 08-23-2010, 06:44 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by tgridley View Post
        If you are elevated, bend at the waist and aim dead on. You also need to practice shooting elevated. Get in your stand or on your house and shoot your target. If you stand straight up and just lower your arms you will shoot high. This is because you are changing the angle in which you look through your peep. If you bend at the waist everything stays the same and you can hold dead on.
        Interesting.......I always thought you held low because the arrow was less affected by gravity when shooting down hill.

Tbar

Comment

Most hold low in case the deer drops at the sound of the shot (jump the string) At short distances and the speed the arrow is traveling gravity will not have much effect.

Comment