Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2021, 07:41 PM   #1
TexasLongball
Ten Point
 
TexasLongball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: New Ulm and Pearsall
Default Adding additional A/C to a travel trailer?

I have a travel trailer that stays at the deer lease year round but we haul it a few times a year to some campgrounds. Last summer (in august) we went to an RV park with zero trees and my AC couldnít keep up. It was brutal. I have a Grey Wolf 29TE with 50amp service but only one AC unit.
Iíd like to add some support either through a second roof top unit, a portable AC, or a removable window unit. I need something because weíre going back again in August.
Any RV veterans out there that can offer some insight? Much appreciated!
TexasLongball is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 07:55 PM   #2
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasLongball View Post
I have a travel trailer that stays at the deer lease year round but we haul it a few times a year to some campgrounds. Last summer (in august) we went to an RV park with zero trees and my AC couldnít keep up. It was brutal. I have a Grey Wolf 29TE with 50amp service but only one AC unit.

Iíd like to add some support either through a second roof top unit, a portable AC, or a removable window unit. I need something because weíre going back again in August.

Any RV veterans out there that can offer some insight? Much appreciated!


Careybirdwell on here is your man. He just did this for my 5th wheel.

Finding the AC unit proved to be the biggest challenge.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 07:57 PM   #3
muddyz
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: McKinney
Hunt In: Baylor Co
Default

Two options...one wire it in to your 50amp, you should be able to power it. Or the other option, I seen a guy on YouTube add one to the front and simply ran a normal cord to the plug in alongside his camper cord.

muddyz is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 07:59 PM   #4
perow
Pope & Young
 
perow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Garland
Hunt In: Moran
Default

Do you have a ceiling vent or skylight in your bedroom? I would think with 50 amp service it is pre wired for the 2nd AC
perow is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 08:01 PM   #5
basskicker24
Ten Point
 
basskicker24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio
Hunt In: Guadalupe county/ Ozona
Default

If your unit is pre wired for the second ac, the hardest part is getting the ac on the roof. Installation is simple. I added a second one to mine. There are several videos on YouTube that you should watch.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
basskicker24 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 08:02 PM   #6
brushtrooper
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Texas/Gulf Coast
Hunt In: Atascosa County
Default

We use the portable AC units for stuff like this. I cant remember the exact model but I think its 10-12,000BTU and it does not have the drip pan. It blows the condensation out the exhaust hose. i have been reading good reviews on this one. Its 115v and you have option of battery power too. https://www.zerobreeze.com/pages/mark2
brushtrooper is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 08:13 PM   #7
TexasLongball
Ten Point
 
TexasLongball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: New Ulm and Pearsall
Default

I’ve read everything I can find on my model and I haven’t found anything about adding another unit. The main bedroom does not have a skylight and the only existing holes there are is a small square vent in the bathroom and a skylight in the kitchen area, which is rectangular.
I’m a pretty handy guy but jacking with the roof of this RV is giving me concern.

And muddyz, I’ve watched that exact video a few times and wouldn’t think it would be an issue if I knew where I could install it.
TexasLongball is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 08:15 PM   #8
Electrican
Pope & Young
 
Electrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Burleson TX
Hunt In: For a place
Default

Being a 50A trailer it’s probably already prewired for a second AC.
Electrican is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 08:35 PM   #9
TexasLongball
Ten Point
 
TexasLongball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: New Ulm and Pearsall
Default

I’ll check it when I go back to the lease but there is not another hole in my roof that would fit the size of another AC. Everything I’ve seen looks like 28-29” squared. The skylight in the kitchen is rectangular in shape. It might be 28-29” long but maybe half that wide.
TexasLongball is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 08:36 PM   #10
TexasLongball
Ten Point
 
TexasLongball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: New Ulm and Pearsall
Default

Seems odd to prewire for a second unit but not leave another hole to drop it in. Maybe I’m missing something.
TexasLongball is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 09:05 PM   #11
careybirdwell
Pope & Young
 
careybirdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Magnolia, TX
Hunt In: Melvin, TX
Default

Generally it will not be wired without being framed & braced. If you don't have a 14x14 crank up vent, then you have to cut hole in roof & ceiling, frame it up, run electric to it. It's not hard but just make sure you are where you need to be at before starting to cut.

Generally the bracing on the roof is on 16" center which will give you about 14.5" between, that is where the cut-out needs to be

Last edited by careybirdwell; 04-29-2021 at 09:07 PM.
careybirdwell is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 09:10 PM   #12
justletmein
Pope & Young
 
justletmein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio \ Cheyenne
Hunt In: Public lands
Default

I think I'd go with a stand alone portable, it's just super easy plug in and go and you can locate it where it's needed most or use it at home or camping elsewhere. I think most of them come with exhaust hose with window brackets for easy exhaust.
justletmein is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 09:17 PM   #13
careybirdwell
Pope & Young
 
careybirdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Magnolia, TX
Hunt In: Melvin, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike D View Post
Careybirdwell on here is your man. He just did this for my 5th wheel.

Finding the AC unit proved to be the biggest challenge.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Thanks Mike
careybirdwell is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-29-2021, 10:23 PM   #14
TexasCanesFan
Pope & Young
 
TexasCanesFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hunt County, Texas
Hunt In: NW of Dallas
Default

I had a 2nd unit added to a 30 amp trailer a few years ago. It just replaced one of the 14Ē crank up vents in the front bedroom.

Since my trailer was only 30 amps they ran the power wire down to the side of the trailer and added a recessed male plug with a cover. I just ran a heavy 110 cord and it ran perfect.

Totally solved the problem like you are having.
TexasCanesFan is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-30-2021, 06:27 AM   #15
TexasLongball
Ten Point
 
TexasLongball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: New Ulm and Pearsall
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by careybirdwell View Post
Generally it will not be wired without being framed & braced. If you don't have a 14x14 crank up vent, then you have to cut hole in roof & ceiling, frame it up, run electric to it. It's not hard but just make sure you are where you need to be at before starting to cut.

Generally the bracing on the roof is on 16" center which will give you about 14.5" between, that is where the cut-out needs to be
I do have one that size in the bathroom. Thatís all the hole needs to be? The ones Iíve found online are 28-29Ē squared. PM inbound.
TexasLongball is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-30-2021, 07:02 AM   #16
Hunter_Man
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

last year i had the same issue as you. I purchased an additional AC unit "remanufactured' off of ebay delivered for 600$. cut the hole in the RV roof and ran the wiring to an additional plug that i put on the outside of my RV. Basically it runs on it's own 110 circuit. I have 50 amp service to my RV plug in, and my camper runs off of 30 amp. it all works great and to be honest it was not as hard as it sounds. I was a little nervous about cutting the hole in the roof but it was very easy.

Good luck.. you won't regret it.
Hunter_Man is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-30-2021, 07:03 AM   #17
Hunter_Man
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

oh, and my camper did NOT have a vent in the bedroom area... but when i started cutting, i found that it was already FRAMED for the vent/AC. once i found that it made it SERIOUSLY easy. basically cut the hole, and slapped the AC on there.
Hunter_Man is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-30-2021, 07:45 AM   #18
ColinR
Pope & Young
 
ColinR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring Branch, TX-in the Hill Country not Houston
Hunt In: Roosevelt/Sonora
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muddyz View Post
Two options...one wire it in to your 50amp, you should be able to power it. Or the other option, I seen a guy on YouTube add one to the front and simply ran a normal cord to the plug in alongside his camper cord.
I like the option of having a separate plug. All camp grounds have a 30 amp plug and some 15 amp plugs next to it. Some camp grounds don't have 50 amp plugs.
ColinR is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-30-2021, 07:51 AM   #19
JhuntsAlot
Eight Point
 
JhuntsAlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Between Conroe and The Woodlands
Hunt In: Houston County, Madison County, Kendall County, where friends are.
Default

I added a portable AC and it helps a lot. Got it from Home Depot.

Has wheels so I can move it and light enough to take it home when not at the travel trailer.


J
JhuntsAlot is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-30-2021, 08:45 AM   #20
Jethro
Ten Point
 
Jethro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Collingsworth County
Hunt In: Loco, Quail, Lutie, Needwood.
Default

Ours is a 30 amp trailer. It just would not keep up once temps went over the high 90's. We added a second AC in the front (master) bedroom where the roof vent was. Had it wired down to a separate 30 amp plug in the front of the trailer. When we go camp we can hook up multiple ways (lots of times if there is a 50 amp, I will adapt my 30 to 50 and plug in there), just depending on where we are at and what hookups are available. But worst case scenario if only 30 is available there is nearly always a regular 110 plug as well. We can run the camper on the 30, adapt the 30 plug on the AC to regular 110 plug in, and run it like that as needed.

The thing is, if you have the second you don't have to run it all the time. Even on the hottest days our original unit will normally do fine until around noon. At that point we turn the second unit on to keep the trailer from getting hot during mid day. By bed time usually we have the option of just turning the second one off or way down. That second unit we installed runs like a scalded ape. It is very capable of freezing you out if you leave it on wide open. If I remember right it is a Coleman. It is normally running about half capacity. But it will sure cool down that camper fast when you pull into a spot with a hot trailer in August.

Second AC was the best thing we ever did. Wife does not like a hot camper. Happy wife, happy life.

Last edited by Jethro; 04-30-2021 at 08:50 AM.
Jethro is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2021, 08:50 AM   #21
TexasLongball
Ten Point
 
TexasLongball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: New Ulm and Pearsall
Default

Has anyone used these? RV Airflow Systems? Incredibly expensive for a piece of styrofoam but the theory behind it sounds good.
https://rvairflow.com/
TexasLongball is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2021, 09:14 AM   #22
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinR View Post
I like the option of having a separate plug. All camp grounds have a 30 amp plug and some 15 amp plugs next to it. Some camp grounds don't have 50 amp plugs.


Donít know how well this would work but I have one of these adapters.

Camco 55025 PowerGrip Maximizer... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0024E70L2...p_mob_ap_share


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2021, 09:17 AM   #23
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasLongball View Post
Has anyone used these? RV Airflow Systems? Incredibly expensive for a piece of styrofoam but the theory behind it sounds good.
https://rvairflow.com/


I havenít but have considered it. I watched a YouTube review video on it and it appeared to produce favorable results.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2021, 09:21 AM   #24
TexasLongball
Ten Point
 
TexasLongball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: New Ulm and Pearsall
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike D View Post
I havenít but have considered it. I watched a YouTube review video on it and it appeared to produce favorable results.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I probably watched the same one. A 100% increase in CFM is pretty strong.
TexasLongball is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2021, 10:33 AM   #25
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasLongball View Post
I probably watched the same one. A 100% increase in CFM is pretty strong.


Agreed. Buy one and test it out so we will both know!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2021, 10:46 AM   #26
TexasLongball
Ten Point
 
TexasLongball's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: New Ulm and Pearsall
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike D View Post
Agreed. Buy one and test it out so we will both know!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Haha I'm actually going this weekend to measure my AC to check for a fit. But if you beat me to the punch and buy one then I expect a review.
TexasLongball is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-03-2021, 02:07 PM   #27
Main Frame
Eight Point
 
Main Frame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Mexico
Default

I had to take my fifth wheel to Phoenix last summer and bought this Toshiba from Home Depot. it helped tremendously. I cut a piece of 2" insulation board to fit one of my windows and cut a 6" hole in that to exhaust out the window. Simple and effective.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Toshiba-...CWRU/314620248
Main Frame is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com