Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2020, 05:24 PM   #1
Dusty Britches
Pope & Young
 
Dusty Britches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cameron & College Station
Question Chevy Instrument Cluster question

My 2000 Chevy 2500 needs a new instrument cluster. My repair man said I could buy it online and he would install it or I'd have to leave it for a week with him so he would take it out, send it to California for a rebuild, and then get it back.

What questions or information do I need to know to buy it online from an after market place or ebay?

TIA.
Dusty Britches is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 05:31 PM   #2
Muskles
Pope & Young
 
Muskles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Jacksonville
Hunt In: Cherokee Co
Default

Not sure about sending it off, but I looked into replacing my '04 instrument panel a few years ago with ABC auto. It was ~$265 and all I would have to do was tell them my mileage and trade in my old one.
Muskles is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 05:32 PM   #3
CEO
Pope & Young
 
CEO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Default

I had to pull mine in an 03. I remember it being pretty simple if you don't want to pay for someone to do it. As far as buying it online, any seller should walk you through the options to make sure you get the right one.

Edit. Didn't think about the mileage.
CEO is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 05:38 PM   #4
Dusty Britches
Pope & Young
 
Dusty Britches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cameron & College Station
Default

The rebuild, without labor, would be $375.
Dusty Britches is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 05:50 PM   #5
RockTippedStick
Eight Point
 
RockTippedStick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: College Station
Hunt In: Liberty, Tyler, Polk
Default

I did mine on my 06 F150. Super simple. Got it on ebay. Just search for your Year Make
and Model with the package. Just make sure it looks the same. There are places that will flash your mileage onto the new one.
RockTippedStick is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 06:05 PM   #6
Johnny Dangerr
Pope & Young
 
Johnny Dangerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Houston
Hunt In: Killing Stuff These Days
Default

car-part.com

Look up speedometer.................
Johnny Dangerr is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 06:17 PM   #7
Bassdeer
Ten Point
 
Bassdeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: The Colony
Default

I pulled my out of a 2005 GMC Duramax and sent it to a guy in MN off Ebay and he fixed it for $50.00, Only two of the gauges where bad but he went over all of them and that was 9 years ago and all still are working.
Bassdeer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 06:20 PM   #8
TxArcheo
Six Point
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Austin via the Southern Plains
Default

I use a gentleman is Austin to repair mine.....reasonable and fast if you can remove and send it in. He repaired one for me ca. 10 years ago and still working & sent him a different one the other day and he had it ready in 2 days; this one had a bad resistor & loose connection and he charged me $125. If I remember correctly he quoted full replacement of gauge motors at close to $200 or can only replace the bad gauge motors...call him, easy to work with. Heíll also flash your mileage. YouTube videos can show you how to remove....super simple.

Hope itís within the rules to post this link....

Overseas Speedometer
http://www.speedometer.com
TxArcheo is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 06:21 PM   #9
Tx-Burt
Ten Point
 
Tx-Burt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin
Hunt In: Gillespie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bassdeer View Post
I pulled my out of a 2005 GMC Duramax and sent it to a guy in MN off Ebay and he fixed it for $50.00, Only two of the gauges where bad but he went over all of them and that was 9 years ago and all still are working.
Same here, but it was some guy in central Texas, I think it was 80.00 something for a couple reo-stats. Seems to be a known issue with Chevy/GMC. Sent it to him and got it back in a couple days.
Tx-Burt is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 06:25 PM   #10
Strummer
Pope & Young
 
Strummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edna Tx
Hunt In: At Gary's place ,and the backyard
Default Chevy Instrument Cluster question

.
Strummer is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 06:26 PM   #11
Strummer
Pope & Young
 
Strummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Edna Tx
Hunt In: At Gary's place ,and the backyard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty Britches View Post
My 2000 Chevy 2500 needs a new instrument cluster. My repair man said I could buy it online and he would install it or I'd have to leave it for a week with him so he would take it out, send it to California for a rebuild, and then get it back.



What questions or information do I need to know to buy it online from an after market place or ebay?



TIA.


If itís any like thing like my 2005 you can replace the steeper motors for about 50 or 60 bucks really easy to do
Strummer is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 06:59 PM   #12
TX_Hoghunter
Pope & Young
 
TX_Hoghunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fruitvale, TX
Hunt In: Fruitvale, TX
Default

I searched online and found a rebuilt kit for $30 for our 2004. I replaced all old the stepper motors and everything worked except for one gauge. I never could get it to work so I finally sent it off to be rebuilt. Cost I think $259 but I do not remember the place I sent it. It was on the east coast but can find it if you need me too. A google search will yield lots of places that rebuilt them. They will have it a week or so.

-john
TX_Hoghunter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 07:40 PM   #13
Bassdeer
Ten Point
 
Bassdeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: The Colony
Default

Found this on Ebay, This is the kind of deal I did.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/1999-2002-C...8AAOSwVVlcbsRR
Bassdeer is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 07:42 PM   #14
Kingfisher789
Ten Point
 
Kingfisher789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Austin. Jim Ned Creek
Hunt In: Tivydale. Nix. Brownwood
Default

My son had a dude come by his office a fix his Tahoe for @140$ It’s not hard and the parts are cheap
Kingfisher789 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 07:55 PM   #15
parkchief100
Ten Point
 
parkchief100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Decatur, Texas
Hunt In: Sunset, Colorado
Default

Check out this past thread!

https://discussions.texasbowhunter.c...ometer+cluster
parkchief100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 08:27 PM   #16
wickll
Eight Point
 
wickll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Victoria
Hunt In: Victoria and Lavaca Counties
Default

About a year ago, I sent off the cluster from my 2001 duramax to this company in Austin.

http://www.rapidtransitservices.com/

Very reasonable and they did a good job.
wickll is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 09:28 PM   #17
Dusty Britches
Pope & Young
 
Dusty Britches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cameron & College Station
Default

The dial gauges work just fine.

The digital odometer reading turns off. If I bang the top of the dash most of the time if comes back on. Sometimes it doesn't.
Dusty Britches is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 09:50 PM   #18
Muskles
Pope & Young
 
Muskles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Jacksonville
Hunt In: Cherokee Co
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty Britches View Post
The dial gauges work just fine.

The digital odometer reading turns off. If I bang the top of the dash most of the time if comes back on. Sometimes it doesn't.
That may be a different problem. My Jeep does this, and I've found if I wiggle the ignition it comes back on. I can't remember what it's called, but there's a spring, or something in there. I just deal with it. My AC/heat fan also doesn't work when the odometer doesn't...and the air bag light comes on.
Muskles is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 10:26 PM   #19
TxArcheo
Six Point
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Austin via the Southern Plains
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty Britches View Post
The dial gauges work just fine.

The digital odometer reading turns off. If I bang the top of the dash most of the time if comes back on. Sometimes it doesn't.
My most recent repair was for a very similar issue.....see my previous post regarding the fix.
TxArcheo is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 10:30 PM   #20
wickll
Eight Point
 
wickll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Victoria
Hunt In: Victoria and Lavaca Counties
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty Britches View Post
The dial gauges work just fine.

The digital odometer reading turns off. If I bang the top of the dash most of the time if comes back on. Sometimes it doesn't.
Thats what mine was doing. The guys at Rapid Transit in Austin fixed me right up. Apparently a common problem. They can also upgrade to LEDs if you want to spend a little extra.
wickll is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-20-2020, 10:34 PM   #21
DEREKG22
Four Point
 
DEREKG22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Default

I'm in houston and had a guy in a van drive to my work and do the entire speedo repair in 40 min.....maybe charged me 200 max
DEREKG22 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-22-2020, 05:02 PM   #22
Dusty Britches
Pope & Young
 
Dusty Britches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cameron & College Station
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TxArcheo View Post
My most recent repair was for a very similar issue.....see my previous post regarding the fix.
Thank you. I'll look him up.
Dusty Britches is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-22-2020, 05:11 PM   #23
Dusty Britches
Pope & Young
 
Dusty Britches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cameron & College Station
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wickll View Post
About a year ago, I sent off the cluster from my 2001 duramax to this company in Austin.

http://www.rapidtransitservices.com/


Very reasonable and they did a good job.
This one looks good too. Thanks
Dusty Britches is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-22-2020, 07:42 PM   #24
Pedernal
Pope & Young
 
Pedernal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Del Rio
Hunt In: Amistad
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusty Britches View Post
The dial gauges work just fine.

The digital odometer reading turns off. If I bang the top of the dash most of the time if comes back on. Sometimes it doesn't.
It sounds just like what mine was doing... it was a couple of “broken” solder connections.... I have a 2002 gmc 2500.... that whole cluster comes out relatively easy... I would suggest taking it out and see if an electronic repair shop would re-solder it for you... See link below

On mine the some of the pins he re-solders at the 6:00 minute mark were loose due to bad solder connection.... All I did was touch up the solder and got it working

https://discussions.texasbowhunter.c...5&d=1584848948

Last edited by Pedernal; 03-22-2020 at 08:17 PM. Reason: Add link
Pedernal is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-23-2020, 04:11 AM   #25
Pedernal
Pope & Young
 
Pedernal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Del Rio
Hunt In: Amistad
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedernal View Post
It sounds just like what mine was doing... it was a couple of “broken” solder connections.... I have a 2002 gmc 2500.... that whole cluster comes out relatively easy... I would suggest taking it out and see if an electronic repair shop would re-solder it for you... See link below

On mine the some of the pins he re-solders at the 6:00 minute mark were loose due to bad solder connection.... All I did was touch up the solder and got it working

https://discussions.texasbowhunter.c...5&d=1584848948

Wow, not sure how I got the link above or how it's what I pasted on here but it's obviously wrong... Let me try this one more time... This link shows the exact problem my dash display was having and what actually fixed it.


Last edited by Pedernal; 03-23-2020 at 04:21 AM.
Pedernal is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-23-2020, 05:00 AM   #26
be12hunt
Ten Point
 
be12hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lake Jackson, TX
Hunt In: Montell, TX
Default

This may be irrelevant but I had an 04 Sierra that was doing something similar. I just lived with it for about 2 years until I mentioned to my neighbor about getting a ticket because my speedometer wasn’t working. Well my neighbor happened to be a service tech for GM and she told me there was a recall on it. I went in and sure enough it was recalled and got a new instrument cluster for free.

Edit: after a quick search it looks like that was for ‘03 to ‘06 models.

Last edited by be12hunt; 03-23-2020 at 05:07 AM.
be12hunt is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 03-23-2020, 07:33 AM   #27
cva34
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: van vleck
Hunt In: LOOKING
Default

If speedo is only issue get a GPS other than that. Pull cluster and clean connectors and fix bad connectors..and or replace as necessary...Mu 01 jepp had problem every time I went over a RR trac speedo went to 0000 every time I went over another RR it fixed itself...Pulled cluster <30m cleaned all connectors put back ...still working
cva34 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com