Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Equipment and Tuning
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2018, 12:24 AM   #1
Homer75
Ten Point
 
Homer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Katy, TX
Hunt In: Texas
Default Shooting thru mesh windows

Has anyone or does anyone do this? How did the mesh effect your arrow flight? I shoot the Magnus Stinger and want to shoot through the Double Bull.
Homer75 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2018, 02:48 AM   #2
hully1029
Pope & Young
 
hully1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pottsboro
Hunt In: Cooke
Default

youll be just fine.. never shoot an expandable thru the mesh, but any fixed blade should be just fine.
hully1029 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2018, 04:57 AM   #3
Hoytbowhunter
Pope & Young
 
Hoytbowhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default

I shoot 3-blade rages through mesh no problem.
Hoytbowhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2018, 09:55 AM   #4
12thman
Ten Point
 
12thman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: College Station
Hunt In: Mason, Burleson, Brazos, Brown
Default

I have shot fixed blades through mesh with zero negative impact. I have heard to avoid expandable but never tried.
12thman is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2018, 09:57 AM   #5
BlackHogDown
Ten Point
 
BlackHogDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NW Houston
Hunt In: Duval County, Livingston
Default

https://discussions.texasbowhunter.c...highlight=mesh

For the record, I, as well as many others, have never had a single problem shooting mechanicals through mesh so long as the mesh is spread tight (properly). If not, fixed will have issues as well.
BlackHogDown is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2018, 01:41 PM   #6
AndyTX
Ten Point
 
AndyTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Hunt In: Atascosa, Co.
Default

I tried it couple of times with mechs. Nope, won't do that again. Maybe I didn't have the mesh tight enough. Makes no difference to me. I won't do it again.

Best thing to do is set your target up and send a couple through the mesh. Only way to be sure with your set up.
AndyTX is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2018, 01:47 PM   #7
Bayouboy
Pope & Young
 
Bayouboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: League City
Hunt In: East Texas
Default

https://discussions.texasbowhunter.c...highlight=Mesh

Lots of threads already on here about this.
Pretty much the same answers every thread. For years.
Bayouboy is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-04-2018, 01:50 PM   #8
BlackHogDown
Ten Point
 
BlackHogDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NW Houston
Hunt In: Duval County, Livingston
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayouboy View Post
https://discussions.texasbowhunter.c...highlight=Mesh

Lots of threads already on here about this.
Pretty much the same answers every thread. For years.
I consider myself pretty tech-savvy and I constantly have trouble with the search function. As such, I tend to give everyone the benefit of the doubt...
BlackHogDown is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-06-2018, 12:57 PM   #9
pigsticker64
Ten Point
 
pigsticker64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Goodrich Tx.
Hunt In: Soda, Tx. Anywhere I can
Default

The magnus will shoot great thru mesh. It is a mental thing with most people
Practice a little and you will see and gain confidence ..
pigsticker64 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-06-2018, 01:24 PM   #10
Hoytbowhunter
Pope & Young
 
Hoytbowhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default

I have mesh on with thumb tacks, easy to change out and shoot thru no problem 3-blade rages.
Hoytbowhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-06-2018, 09:53 PM   #11
skiguy327
Six Point
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Default

I think a well tuned bow is key to consistent performance through mesh. That and CoC broadheads.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
skiguy327 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-08-2018, 09:16 AM   #12
Hoytbowhunter
Pope & Young
 
Hoytbowhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default

Yes Sir, I paper turned all my bows every year, they need to be fine turned and checked every year before season.
Hoytbowhunter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-08-2018, 09:38 AM   #13
Mr. Whiskers
Pope & Young
 
Mr. Whiskers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Magnolia, Tx
Hunt In: South Texas
Default

I've shot through mesh and through the side of my blind one time. They all still flew straight and shot not affected.
Mr. Whiskers is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-11-2018, 07:53 AM   #14
matt.howell411
Four Point
 
matt.howell411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

Never effected my shot.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
matt.howell411 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-11-2018, 12:40 PM   #15
rattler7696
Ten Point
 
rattler7696's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: San Antonio
Hunt In: South Texas
Default

Shot Rage Extreme’s thru mesh on Double Bull Blinds for last 5 years and no problems.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
rattler7696 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-17-2019, 08:09 PM   #16
rjvenema
Spike
 
rjvenema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Default

Just don’t shoot mechanical cical and you will be good to go
rjvenema is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-17-2019, 08:28 PM   #17
sierracharlie338
Pope & Young
 
sierracharlie338's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Republic of Texas (Houston)
Hunt In: Anywhere I can.... seems to be pretty limited these days
Default

If mesh is tight you will be good. I’ve shot mechanicals and fixed through it.


Sierracharlie out…
sierracharlie338 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 06-17-2019, 08:38 PM   #18
MQ32Shooter
Pope & Young
 
MQ32Shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Garland, Texas
Hunt In: Cisco, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackHogDown View Post
https://discussions.texasbowhunter.c...highlight=mesh

For the record, I, as well as many others, have never had a single problem shooting mechanicals through mesh so long as the mesh is spread tight (properly). If not, fixed will have issues as well.
Exactly right! It needs to be strung tight as a drum. If it is, fixed and mechs will work just fine.
MQ32Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-06-2019, 01:42 PM   #19
Nostradamus
Spike
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Default

what's a mesh, I tried looking it up online...?
Nostradamus is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-06-2019, 01:59 PM   #20
Nock This
Six Point
 
Nock This's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Pineville, LA
Hunt In: Mertzon, TX
Default

Never had a problem shooting through mesh.
Nock This is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com