Best way to learn how to play guitar??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best way to learn how to play guitar??

I am looking for advice. I have always wanted to learn how to play guitar. Any advice would be appreciated.

How should I get started?
    What guitar is the best to learn on?
    Should I take lessons or is there a better way to learn?

Thanks in advance guys.

Bump

Comment

Im no expert but been playing around the campfire for a few years. Mostly self/friend taught but have taken some lessons too. I would recommend finding a teacher you like and do that, but really its a lot of repetition practice at first to learn chord shapes and if you want to go beyond that...learning scales and such. The biggest advice Id give, is dont buy $100 guitar to 'start' if your really are going to stick with it. Spend a little more like 3-400 on a good beginner guitar and have it setup. It will stay in tune better and be easier on your fingers.

Comment

Lessons would be best, I'm sure. I had to teach myself when I was a kid though. I used books and just learned by ear, playing along with records and such. YouTube nowadays is a treasure trove of how-to material.

You don't have to spend big money on a guitar, but just make sure you have someone knowledgeable set it up for you so that it will be easy to play. The frets and neck need to be level, and the action needs to be set so that the strings are as close to the frets as they can be without buzzing. That makes the guitar easier to play.

Play with other people as much as you can, even if you're not officially taking lessons from someone. You'll learn from other players, and playing along with other people helps you learn how to get into the groove of a song much better than playing by yourself. If you can't find other people to play with, play along with your favorite song recordings.