Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2019, 10:22 PM   #1
Hunting4fun
Six Point
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Default Random electrician installation question.

If you are installing recessed lighting and the light needs to line up under one of the studs how do you install it? To explain it further if the light needs to line up a foot to the left in the picture how would an electrician install it?

Hunting4fun is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-14-2019, 11:11 PM   #2
Hobbs
Eight Point
 
Hobbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Hunt In: East Texas
Default

I'm not sure I'm following 100% but your light(s) should not line up to any joist/stud when you are designing the light pattern. Moving the light would be much easier than putting in blocks to cut out enough of the joist to fit the light there.
Hobbs is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 05:18 AM   #3
12RingKing
Pope & Young
 
12RingKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lake Jackson
Hunt In: The Grocery Store...
Default

You’re out of luck. Can’t mount a recessed light on a joist that I’m aware of.
12RingKing is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 07:13 AM   #4
JayB
Ten Point
 
JayB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rowlett
Hunt In: Cass County
Default

This is the answer you need....you can't get right on a joist but you can get close enough that your eye will not see the offset.


.....and God Bless America.
JayB is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 07:18 AM   #5
Lightning48
Eight Point
 
Lightning48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ft. Worth,Texas
Hunt In: Jones County
Default

Like others have said,your NOT gonna put it where it goes,just put it an inch off of stud
Lightning48 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 07:25 AM   #6
DirtyDave
Ten Point
 
DirtyDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Decatur
Default

You don't.
You layout your lights so they are between the joists. Pretty simple maths...
DirtyDave is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 07:33 AM   #7
Rick
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: White Oak
Hunt In: Junction
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayB View Post
This is the answer you need....you can't get right on a joist but you can get close enough that your eye will not see the offset.


.....and God Bless America.
these work great, especially for remodels. I have used them and thy put out a good bit of light, no can needed!!
Rick is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 07:34 AM   #8
Rick
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: White Oak
Hunt In: Junction
Default

but you still can't put them right on a joist or rafter
Rick is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 07:45 AM   #9
WTucker
Ten Point
 
WTucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Orangefield
Hunt In: Votaw, Anywhere else I can.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDave View Post
You don't.
You layout your lights so they are between the joists. Pretty simple maths...
This. The cans may not fall exactly where the print shows. I always space them evenly and in a line that falls between joists. I am too OCD for cans that are out of line.
WTucker is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 07:59 AM   #10
Hunting4fun
Six Point
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Default

Thanks I was helping a guy today and was just had a what if thought. I guess if you have to follow the plans exactly you are out of luck.
Hunting4fun is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 08:02 AM   #11
125Dad
Pope & Young
 
125Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: keller
Hunt In: Coke Co.
Default

Could you get your framer to reframe? Could add and move the one in the way to allow the light to go in the correct place.
125Dad is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 10:07 AM   #12
az2tx
Pope & Young
 
az2tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Boerne
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 125Dad View Post
Could you get your framer to reframe? Could add and move the one in the way to allow the light to go in the correct place.
That is not an easy thing to do with TJI's that in an engineered floor
much easier to move the fixture
az2tx is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 08-15-2019, 10:49 AM   #13
cj7zrcool
Pope & Young
 
cj7zrcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Springtown
Hunt In: Throckmorton County
Default

Do NOT notch the I-Joist, move the light(s)
cj7zrcool is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com