School Me On Minerals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

School Me On Minerals

I keep seeing sacks of double down minerals and I'm ignorant to their usage.

I've done some research and the claims make sense to me but I've never used any before and it's literally pouring money on the ground.

Who all mixes minerals into the dirt at your feed sites? I run 3 feeders so I don't want to spend several hundred if it's gimmicky.

Personally I think you have to experiment.
    My Leon co deer loved “trophy rock”.
    Up here in brown county, they lick it but no crazy.

I haven’t seen much use of the powdered minerals I poured out here

BP

Comment

The best minerals in a bag that I’ve ever used were the “30-06” minerals from Whitetail Institute. Everywhere I tried them (3 different properties) the deer went after them like a kid after ice cream. I had one spot that I stopped refreshing that still had deer and hogs working it a couple years later. I would clean off a place in the woods near a trail intersection and chop the dirt up in about a two foot circle, then pour the minerals on it. I’d then chop the dirt and minerals up and mix it as well as I could, smooth it out and leave it. Never had a spot that deer didn’t visit it and dig around in it.

Comment

Are the 30-06 minerals good nutritionally or just an attractant?
        Anyone?

Thanks

Comment

I'm referencing double down because they're what I saw that got me looking into it. I'm not necessarily wanting dd.

Their claim though is if you spread the minerals it'll essentially turn your entire feed site into a mineral block and as they eat your corn they'll pick up minerals when they lick the dirt.

I'm not even truly concerned with antler growth. If this is something I could do that does benefit the deer I'll likely do it. I don't do any other supplemental feeding. Feeding protein ain't in the budget.

Comment