First arrow build

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First arrow build

I was gifted about 50 arrows from a very kind and generous gentleman whom I've come to know well over the last few months...I'm new to archery and especially new to building arrows...so I'm hoping to start a thread where I can get help and advice on what else I'll need to make a bunch of really great hunting arrows. I should mention the primary goal of the build will be hunting, but I will end up target practicing a lot...

My Bow: Obsession Turmoil RZ. It is rated for 350 FPS, but I'm aware that I will never touch 350 as that is achieved through max draw length and max poundage. I am set at 28.5" and 70#.

My arrows: I was gifted 50 or so Easton XX75 Autumn Hunter 2216. They look old... The fletching on them is plastic, brittle, and falling apart at first touch. They would pretty much need new fletching, nocks, inserts, field tips and broad heads. My only real question here is what do you guys know about Easton XX75? It looks like the 2216 size would be the way to go for the heavy build that I desire at 12 GPI. I believe I would need to cut them down a 1/2" or so as they are a bit long for me... That should give me 350 gr right off the bat. Another question I thought of...Where does Spine play into all this when building a bow? Do I need to measure the spine on these arrows to ensure they would "fit" my bow?

My broadheads: This could change if I had other recommendations... but I did some research and really like the Annihilator broadhead. They make a 125 gr, which is what I would use.