Things a shop should do for you?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Things a shop should do for you?

I want to start by clarifying that I am new to archery.
    I do not know, what I do not know, but I do not consider myself an unintelligent man, as I typically pick things up relatively quickly.

That said, I Lurked on here for awhile and the concensus seemed to tell me "go to a pro shop and spend the few extra bucks cuz it's worth it."

I did that, I learned a bit, and I bought a bow. Fast forward through a week of backyard shooting, and I've made a couple observations.

The brushes on my octane hostage pro are wearing badly and unevenly. I didn't notice this at the shop but didn't know to look either.
    I do not feel like several dozen arrows should result in what I'm seeing, and I BELIEVE my bow was test shot by a "large" number of folks before I ended up with it. I didn't even think to check for that as I was being bombarded with lots of info and trying to absorb as much as possible.
    I'm also not sure my peep is at the ideal placement. I make it work but i dunno, maybe it could be optimized further.
    [IMG][/IMG]

The salesman/tech that I dealt with was friendly, and he definitely gave me some "honest" answers that I wouldn't have expected to hear from someone selling something. I liked that, as I too run a small business and have been successful primarily due to my high integrity and not bull S--ting folks. (no problems tooting my own horn about those things as the world needs more integrity and fewer BS peddlers)

HOWEVER- I feel like a thread where everyone can share the small things that a newbie wouldn't know to think about would be helpful.