Just the tip

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just the tip

I am very new to bow hunting after many years of rifle hunting. I was able to experience first hand the effect of the field tips being used for practice not weighing the same as the broadheads for hunting . . .

So my question is about the tips . . . Do you purchase your field tips from the same manufacturer as your broadheads to improve the likelihood they will weigh the same? Or should you be able to buy each anywhere as long as you are buying the same weight?

Planning to do A LOT more practice in the off season this year, and want to start off on the right foot.
    Last edited by TxHamJello; 02-04-2022, 11:55 AM.

I’ll use any field tips from any manufacturer. I’ve never bothered to weigh them. Most if not all broadheads and field points will vary in weight to a small degree. I’ve got 100 and 125 grain field points in my bow case and I tell them apart because they are different styles.

Comment

I reload so I always check both on my scale, any variation that can be removed is a +.

[emoji1662]

Comment

Originally posted by TxHamJello View Post
        I am very new to bow hunting after many years of rifle hunting. I was able to experience first hand the effect of the field tips being used for practice not weighing the same as the broadheads for hunting . . .

So my question is about the tips . . . Do you purchase your field tips from the same manufacturer as your broadheads to improve the likelihood they will weigh the same? Or should you be able to buy each anywhere as long as you are buying the same weight?

Planning to do A LOT more practice in the off season this year, and want to start off on the right foot.