Help for a newbie

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help for a newbie

Firt off, I apologize if I am posting this in the wrong area or if I have missed a sticky somewhere where this would be better placed.

I am brand new to the bow hunting culture. By brand new, I mean that I do not own a bow nor have I ever shot one. I have been a rifle/pistol user my entire life and have hunted pigs over the past year or so. I would like to expand into hunting deer, but hunting deer with a rifle doesn't appeal to me for a few reasons. First, I do not have land nor a lease to hunt deer and the thought of being on public land with inexperienced marksmen really bothers me (I'm sure my PTSD doesn't like it either lol). Second, I am highly competitive. I am a hell of a shot with a rifle and I feel that for my own personal reasons a bow and the challenge associated with it just fits me better. (Please do not take offense to any of this, I pass no judgment on others who hunt in any way that they ethically choose to do so, these are personal opinions of my own)

My newness to this culture has sparked thousands of questions in my mind and I unfortunately am not lucky to have a bow hunter in my family or friends. From reading these threads over the past few days, I have seen nothing short of a virtual family of support and genuine desires to help others who you all may or may not know. With that in mind, I was hoping that some of you might take the time to indulge a few of my queries and forgive any ignorance that I show.