Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2018, 11:35 AM   #1
offthemap
Ten Point
 
offthemap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tyler
Hunt In: Houston, Anderson, Cherokee, Smith, Knox, Foard
Default The Timer + Battery Question

I bought a new style battery to go on my all seasons stand & fill feeder this year but I have a question about using it with The Timer. Its a Universal Battery model UB12100-S 12v 10ah.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BSEPXN6..._t1_B00BUCUOUI

It's fully charged according to my battery charger and a volt meter reads 12.6v-12.8v when I test it. However, the battery gauge on The Timer itself shows that the battery is almost dead.

Anybody have an idea why it's showing the battery is out of juice?

Should I be worried about burning The Timer up by using this bigger battery? I got it for the extra amp hours but now I'm worried about putting it out in the field and risking it since my place is so far away. I'd hate to show up in September and it not be running!!

Thoughts?
offthemap is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-18-2018, 11:40 AM   #2
offthemap
Ten Point
 
offthemap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tyler
Hunt In: Houston, Anderson, Cherokee, Smith, Knox, Foard
Default

I have 2 of the same battery, one hooked up to The Timer and one hooked up to a Foreverlast timer but they both read the same way, no juice...

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
offthemap is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-18-2018, 11:48 AM   #3
Patton
Pope & Young
 
Patton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin
Hunt In: Edwards, Hays, Caldwell
Default

Any corrosion on the battery terminals or connections? That will sometimes give a bad connection/read on The Timer even when your meter reads 12.6+volts. I serviced 14 feeders yesterday, ask me how I know
Patton is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-18-2018, 11:52 AM   #4
chewy
Ten Point
 
chewy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bartlett
Default

there is a battery inside the unit as well that may be almost dead. You don't need the battery that's inside bec it keeps/saves the times when you disconnect main battery.


edit: just reread your 2nd post so prolly not the issue.

Last edited by chewy; 07-18-2018 at 11:54 AM.
chewy is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-18-2018, 11:55 AM   #5
buckfan50
Six Point
 
buckfan50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Magnolia, Texas
Hunt In: Montgomery County
Default

That's the way it is on my The Timer also. Never pay any attention to it. Been like that for a long time.
buckfan50 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-18-2018, 12:53 PM   #6
offthemap
Ten Point
 
offthemap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tyler
Hunt In: Houston, Anderson, Cherokee, Smith, Knox, Foard
Default

Thanks guys

No corrosion and I have fresh AA's in them
offthemap is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-18-2018, 12:58 PM   #7
Joe H
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria
Default

Mine have always been that way and no issues

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Joe H is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-18-2018, 02:36 PM   #8
TXhoghunter94
Ten Point
 
TXhoghunter94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Montgomery, Tx
Hunt In: San Jacinto, Fayette, Leon, Real county TX
Default

The timer has the battery indicator and honestly most of the time it's incorrect. I have about 35 the timers and they all are inconsistent. I have 10 amps in a lot of my control boxes and they work great.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
TXhoghunter94 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 07-18-2018, 04:13 PM   #9
gonehuntin68
Pope & Young
 
gonehuntin68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Victoria, TX
Hunt In: Victoria county
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TXhoghunter94 View Post
The timer has the battery indicator and honestly most of the time it's incorrect. I have about 35 the timers and they all are inconsistent. I have 10 amps in a lot of my control boxes and they work great.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Yep, I run about 15 of them and you can't trust the battery gauge in any of them. Some of them even indicate I have 6V battery hooked to them even though they are all 12V. As long as the battery is a 12V battery it doesn't matter how many AMPS the battery is.
gonehuntin68 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com