Shootin shack build. 5x8 Box Blind

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shootin shack build. 5x8 Box Blind

I feel like contributing. Go easy if you see an issue. I’m only an amateur carpenter.

Basic build outline.
    - 5x8 outer dimensions, 6-6’6” tall
    -Treated floor 2x6 base setup as skids
    - Treated 3/4 ply floor
    - 2x4 Wall Framing
    -1/2” ply outter walls
    - flip up windows.

Base is done.
    Waiting on my dewalt batteries to recharge and I should knock out most of the wall framing today.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yessir. In

Comment

Started in on the front wall. Sides walls coming up. Can’t set the window height just yet, gotta get the chairs.

Oh yeah. Cold beer [emoji1303]

Comment

Looks solid already.

Comment

Any reason you didn’t got 6x8 since that ply comes in 4 foot sheets?

Comment

No particular reason.
            This stand is an expansion off of my 4x6 and 2’ wider was more of a concern than 2’ more front and back. Only other plus side to going 5’ was I know it’ll fit on more trailers.

I did pencil whip the paper work and it would have cost me a little more wood to go 6 but it wasn’t much if I recall right. At the end of the day I’ll have my plans if anyone wants them. So far everything’s been plug and play without any winging it.

Comment

I have a 5x8 and it is a good size for me and a couple boys.

It is 5x8 because the pressure treated 2x10 that forms its base came from the kids sandbox that I converted into a blind along with some cut-off steel fence posts left over from a fence project which decided how tall it would be.

Still the only blind on our lease that has yet to get blown over, lol.

Keep the pics coming.

Comment

Walls are up. Still gotta finish tying them all the way together but they stand. The wife wanted to see it up before she left for work so I humored her.

The front will have two 36x10 windows and each side will be 48x10