after the kill then what?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

after the kill then what?

ok, so I am new to public hunting and plan on hiking a good couple of miles from the truck to hunt. If I am lucky enough to fill a tag spot what is the best way to make sure the meat stays good? I figure I will field dress on the spot after tagging the kill but then what? Do I drag it out? Do I skin and quarter it at the kill site? Will it need to be placed on ice once it is back at the truck? How much time is there to get it to a butch with out ice? Just wondering how you guys do it while out there on public land. Any thoughts or suggestions of what is needed to bring the best venison to the table welcomed, thanks

23 looks and no comments for a newbie? Come on help a man out...

Comment

I would recommend getting a game cart so you can get the animal out, we typically field dress them and drag them out or haul them out with a cart. you need to check the laws to make sure you can quarter an animal in the field on public land. Sorry I couldn't be more help

Comment

not to excited on rolling a game cart out on the hike, but may be better than dragging out the kill. I thought quartering with proof of sex is ok, anyone?

Comment

Field dress and carry out is what I have done with the mouflon I have managed to kill. Furthest has been two miles and it was not that big... I would say quarter if its a larger animal and make two trips... Make sure you have a good pack and take some trash bags to avoid getting everything bloody... Game cart might be an option in some area as well... Best to check with game warden in area you will be hunting to see about the quartering in the field question... Sorry I can't help much...
          Last edited by Pedernal; 06-24-2013, 08:11 PM.

Comment