.308 Sub/Super Combo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

.308 Sub/Super Combo

I am looking into putting together a "nicer" .308 bolt gun that will be shot suppressed. I am curious what twist rate would be best for shooting a combination of subs and supers. The goal is to have a gun that can shoot inside 100yds subsonic for doe patrol and pig work and then shoot supers for larger bucks, mulies, and perhaps elk. The focus will be on supers as far as accuracy is concerned since that will be the longer shots. I am new to the subsonic game so any help is greatly appreciated. I am not overly worried about weight so to the extent barrel length is a factor I am happy to go out to 20" or more if that is where the compromise is.

I am not married to the 308 caliber but being that I don't load I like the ability to get subs off the shelf. I may get into loading in the future but not right now.

1:10 will do it. Discreet ballistics recommends 1:10 for their subs also.

Comment

Originally posted by ABroussard View Post
      1:10 will do it. Discreet ballistics recommends 1:10 for their subs also.
      Thanks for the quick reply. Any comment/thought on length? Prefer 18" if doable but can go longer for better overall performance.

Comment

I would just go the same twist rate as 300blk and do a 1:8. But I like to use the heaviest projectile when going subsonic, my current ones are 240SMK
        And I like short barrels with suppressors, so I'd do 16"- but 18" is a good compromise
        1:10 will stabilize almost anything, but I don't risk it with a can on the end.
        Overstabilization isn't as big of a problem as most attribute to it, Brian Litz wrote a great article on it (...if I can find it...).

Personally, I think you should have a short/light 300blk for subsonic 100yd killing and a different supersonic gun for long distance and elk, because, hey, two guns are better than one.

Good luck on the build!

Comment