Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2021, 03:25 PM   #1
kyleseipp
Eight Point
 
kyleseipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dripping Springs
Hunt In: Llano/Mason, KS, IA, MO
Default GFCI....where is it?

Beyond frustrated at this point trying to track the logic on where this reset might be.

I have a game room that is on one end of my house. It has an exterior door that leads to breezeway that has garage on opposite end.

The 6 outlets in game room are tripped with GFCI, but my garage is not - all of those are on. Kitchen is on. Adjacent water softener is on. Wash room is on. Bathrooms are on.

I thought it might be a breaker going to the happy hunting ground but all breakers tested out fine on voltmeter.

So my question remains...where is the most random place a GFCI reset outlet may be? Trying to follow this builder logic hasnít paid me any dividends. House is 10 yrs old.
kyleseipp is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:27 PM   #2
Bowtech38
Pope & Young
 
Bowtech38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Belton
Default

I thought most of those outlets have a reset on them.
Bowtech38 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:28 PM   #3
Kenner97
Ten Point
 
Kenner97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Hunt In: Atascosa, Wilson, Karnes County
Default

Front porch
Kenner97 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:30 PM   #4
Jcjohnson
Ten Point
 
Jcjohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Evans, GA
Hunt In: Burke, Thompson, Lincolnton
Default

Breezeway maybe?
Jcjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:31 PM   #5
kyleseipp
Eight Point
 
kyleseipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dripping Springs
Hunt In: Llano/Mason, KS, IA, MO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenner97 View Post
Front porch
Front and back porch both reset. Nothing.
kyleseipp is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:33 PM   #6
kyleseipp
Eight Point
 
kyleseipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dripping Springs
Hunt In: Llano/Mason, KS, IA, MO
Default

I have not found any tripped external outlets (only have 2) and even checked the well house in the event it wAs wired for one, which it is not.

Is there such thing as a GFCI finder?
kyleseipp is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:33 PM   #7
Berretta Man
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Temple
Hunt In: Bell Co. Where ever invited
Default

My old house the garage and exterior plugs was wired to a GFCI plug in the master bathroom. Drove me nuts when it first tripped. An old electrician told me to check there and he was right.
Berretta Man is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:37 PM   #8
JES
Ten Point
 
JES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Richmond
Hunt In: Stonewall County
Default

Look in a closet. We have one in my wife's closet, zero reason why it should be there...
JES is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:37 PM   #9
Maddox
Ten Point
 
Maddox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Woodlands
Default

Check the garage. I have one there.
Maddox is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:40 PM   #10
kyleseipp
Eight Point
 
kyleseipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dripping Springs
Hunt In: Llano/Mason, KS, IA, MO
Default

Bathrooms and garage checked out.

Looking in random *** closets now.
kyleseipp is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:41 PM   #11
Cookiemonster1
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: burnet
Hunt In: lampasas,brady
Default

Maybe an exterior plug outside that area? Sprinkler or rain might have hit it?
Cookiemonster1 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:44 PM   #12
Tokio
Nubbin' Buck
 
Join Date: May 2016
Default

Found one in bottom of my closet.
Tokio is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:44 PM   #13
Chew
Pope & Young
 
Chew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Kingwood, TX
Hunt In: Leon County
Default

I went through this last year and an electrician buddy ended up finding it wired into the henway. He was very confused about that.
Chew is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:48 PM   #14
cbd10pt
Ten Point
 
cbd10pt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: League city/ Marbella
Hunt In: looking for new places
Default

May not be a gfci the the electrician may have stabbed the wires instead of using the screws on that outlet.
Pull it out and see if one of the wires worked its way out

About half of the electrical problems I check out are this issue
cbd10pt is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:48 PM   #15
whitetailfanatic
Pope & Young
 
whitetailfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: USA
Default

Anywhere there’s a chance for moisture, did find one at wall behind a dishwasher once, dummies unbelievable, not sure who installed it tho
whitetailfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:56 PM   #16
kyleseipp
Eight Point
 
kyleseipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dripping Springs
Hunt In: Llano/Mason, KS, IA, MO
Default

So far, none in closets or bathrooms that are connecting back to this game room.

Good question on the stab vs screw but all 6 outlets are screwed on with connections.

It is localized to just these 6 wall outlets - lights and fans in room work.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
kyleseipp is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:58 PM   #17
Artos
Pope & Young
 
Artos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Deep South TX
Hunt In: Deep South TX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chew View Post
I went through this last year and an electrician buddy ended up finding it wired into the henway. He was very confused about that.
That regulation / code didn't last very long because of all the frustration it causes.
Artos is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:58 PM   #18
deano70
Ten Point
 
deano70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Woodlands
Hunt In: clothes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chew View Post
I went through this last year and an electrician buddy ended up finding it wired into the henway. He was very confused about that.
You too Chew? Dangdest thing I ever saw that Henway.

To the OP, time to check every plug in the house
deano70 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 03:58 PM   #19
Stan R
Pope & Young
 
Stan R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Madisonville
Hunt In: Madison and Colorado County
Default

check inside bathrooms and under kitchen sink cabinet
Stan R is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:00 PM   #20
db@100
Ten Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

Why do you think it's on gfi?
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:02 PM   #21
Twist
Eight Point
 
Twist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazoria County
Hunt In: Leon County
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyleseipp View Post
So far, none in closets or bathrooms that are connecting back to this game room.

Good question on the stab vs screw but all 6 outlets are screwed on with connections.

It is localized to just these 6 wall outlets - lights and fans in room work.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
Go check your fuse box, see if theyíre marked as to exactly what they serve. There could be one outlet in a random location that you wouldnít think would be associated but the GFCI is tripped, causing everything else to go out.

Happened to us a couple of years ago. One of the garage outlets was tied in with something else and wouldnít work, yet the garage door opened was in with something else and never stopped working.
Twist is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:10 PM   #22
Smokeater
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Clifton,Tx
Hunt In: Tree
Default

Maybe behind some shelves or a free-standing cabinet in the garage? That's where we found my Dad's mystery tripper that went to all his outside plugs.
Smokeater is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:13 PM   #23
Easttxbowman
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default

I'd be testing all the plugs and then resetting them to see if one of the plugs just isn't working properly.. assuming you haven't been doing this as you go.
Easttxbowman is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:17 PM   #24
DRT
Pope & Young
 
DRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Hunt In: Jones County and Missouri
Default

Just because a breaker reads voltage through it doesn't mean it is allowing flow/amps through it.
DRT is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:20 PM   #25
db@100
Ten Point
 
db@100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default

I wouldn't think they would be on a gfci. They aren't outside. They aren't near a sink, bathtub or shower. Not in attic or garage.
The home is 10 years old. They wouldn't need to be on an afci.
db@100 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:21 PM   #26
Royal21973
Ten Point
 
Royal21973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: McAllen,Texas
Hunt In: Deep South Texas and will travel
Default

Check the bar if it has a sink, below the panel box. Open one plug and see if wires are stabbed on the back? Is it a open hot or neutral?
Royal21973 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:22 PM   #27
CabezaBlanca
Ten Point
 
CabezaBlanca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Rock Island, TX
Hunt In: Colorado County
Default

Not sure why receptacles in a game room would need to be on a GFI. Sounds like it’s possible that you lost a neutral on a circuit in that room.
CabezaBlanca is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:43 PM   #28
doright
Eight Point
 
doright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Polk co.
Hunt In: Shelby co.
Default

I would look in the attic to see if they are all tied in to a junction box and see if a wire has come loose. Also see if they run to anything else or do they make the home run from there.
doright is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 04:46 PM   #29
Bayouboy
Pope & Young
 
Bayouboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: League City
Hunt In: East Texas
Default

Is your breaker panel mounted to the outside your home? If so check all the breakers there.
Bayouboy is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 05:57 PM   #30
bmac
Ten Point
 
bmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Weatherford
Hunt In: Robertson Co. & TPWD
Default

Amprobe wire tracer kit will tell you exactly where your issue is.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bmac is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 06:25 PM   #31
Bh_liberty
Ten Point
 
Bh_liberty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Default

Mines in the mud room. Drives me crazy.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bh_liberty is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 06:57 PM   #32
Big_gun
Ten Point
 
Big_gun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wallis
Hunt In: Llano
Default

Are you sure they arenít on a switch in the fame room? Assuming they used to work? 120 from breaker terminal to neutral is 120? Might tighten both.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Big_gun is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 06:59 PM   #33
kyleseipp
Eight Point
 
kyleseipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dripping Springs
Hunt In: Llano/Mason, KS, IA, MO
Default

Hey all. Quick update -

All outlets checked out except for the same 6. The only thing I have not done yet is get into the attic to see where the junction is.

I am just riding on the impression that these are gfci'd because it is the room closest to the garage and has outside walls. My previous home had gfci in the living room too (which was interesting).

Going to get a kit to isolate wth is going down, so thank you all for the insight and recs.

Hopping on the shredder now because surely I can't mess that one up.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
kyleseipp is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 07:55 PM   #34
jb5001
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Friendswood
Hunt In: Polk County
Default

Laundry room. Mine is in the middle of my house but all exterior outlets are connected to it. It took me forever to find!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jb5001 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 08:07 PM   #35
1longshot
Six Point
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Gonzales,Tx
Default

If the panel box is labeled correctly and most aren't, turn off the appropriate breaker. Sometimes the breaker is tripped internal and not external, which would lead you to believe they're all on.
1longshot is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 08:12 PM   #36
Big Lee
Ten Point
 
Big Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: TX
Hunt In: Central Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chew View Post
I went through this last year and an electrician buddy ended up finding it wired into the henway. He was very confused about that.
Those dadgum henways trip every single time
Big Lee is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 08:20 PM   #37
Mike
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orange, Texas
Default

This may be a long shot but have you checked the garage door opener outlets?
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 08:39 PM   #38
hpdrifter
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: kerens
Hunt In: anywhere I can
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbd10pt View Post
May not be a gfci the the electrician may have stabbed the wires instead of using the screws on that outlet.
Pull it out and see if one of the wires worked its way out

About half of the electrical problems I check out are this issue
That is what I was thinking. How do you know it's a GFCI if you can't find one tripped?

BTW, I hate stablocks and they ought to be outlawed. The kind that have screw clamps or ok tho.
hpdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 08:45 PM   #39
FLASH_OUTDOORS
Pope & Young
 
FLASH_OUTDOORS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tomball
Hunt In: Davy Crockett National Forest
Default

Willing to bet itís another issue. Use the volt meter snd see if you have voltage from hot to ground. Itís possible you lost neutral. Also check to see if you have continuity between neutral and ground. If so you can assume you lost hot. Open the switches up that are working and see if a connect came loose there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
FLASH_OUTDOORS is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-25-2021, 08:59 PM   #40
Casey
Administrator
 
Casey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bulverde
Hunt In: Frio, Blanco Counties
Default

I have a light fixture over garage that is not switched. I thought it was and pulled it off..arcing the wires. I could not get power back to it no matter what i tried. All breakers were on. I called an electrician out and they were stumped. After a while and checking every outlet, we narrowed it down to one wire pulled free from an outlet in my finished attic. Completely unrelated other than being on that circuit. The arcing of the fixture wire jolted the system enough to let the one wire pull out of the outlet down stream on the circuit. I've never heard of such a thing but they had seen it before, though it is apparently rare.

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk
Casey is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 05:13 AM   #41
Atfulldraw
Pope & Young
 
Atfulldraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hill Country
Hunt In: a high fence, southwest of DFW, Colorado
Default

I'm betting on loose neutral, but also check over by your a/c condenser - sometimes there is a service plug with a GFCI on it.
Atfulldraw is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 05:31 AM   #42
Hammerdown
Eight Point
 
Hammerdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Deer Park TX
Hunt In: Marquez, Jewett Tx and Kansas
Default

Check where your garbage disposal and/or dish washer plugs in.
Hammerdown is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 06:07 AM   #43
bowhuntertx
Ten Point
 
bowhuntertx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aledo
Default

Any chance you have a jetted tub? I had the same issue and found the one tripped under the tub where the motor plugged into a GFCI.
bowhuntertx is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 06:47 AM   #44
pervis
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default

Not an electrician by any means... I had an issue sort of like this. It drove me nuts. Wound up being the actual wire going to the receptacle inside of its housing had broken. So the actual copper inside the black or white wire had broken and caused one to trip. I dunno. All looked fine to me like everything was ok. My neighbor had the same issue and helped me track it down. Just a suggestion. I dunno
pervis is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 06:51 AM   #45
Mike
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orange, Texas
Default

The last few suggestions are good ones to check. Is there any chance you have a soffit outlet that you don't know about, like for Christmas lights?
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 07:00 AM   #46
alec73065
Ten Point
 
alec73065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Magnolia
Hunt In: Cleveland & Lampasas
Default

My house in Round Rock , had GFCI's behind the Dishwasher , under the sink for the Garbage disposal , behind the fridge, behind the washer and in the master bath. It took me an entire weekend once to track the one behind the dishwasher when I tripped an outside outlet. There was no rhyme or reason for the circuits they controlled. Good luck
alec73065 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 06:27 PM   #47
kyleseipp
Eight Point
 
kyleseipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dripping Springs
Hunt In: Llano/Mason, KS, IA, MO
Default

Voltmeter in every outlet today....and the room was back on. This was def not GFCI, as much as I wanted to believe it was.


The culprit was a loose neutral connection on the first outlet. It checked out fine when I tested it with face plate on, but by the time It checked with plate off, it was burned out. New outlet later , the GFCI saga comes to an end.

And yes, I reckon that if I were to question what’s a henway, I’d be right at about 4 to 6 pounds.


Thanks for all the suggestions and insight. Case closed (finally).
kyleseipp is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 07:24 PM   #48
Lungbustr
Pope & Young
 
Lungbustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Texas
Default

I had a gfci circuit giving me fits. Replaced the outlet and all, new one wouldn't work either.

Remembered I had a free home warranty when i bought this place and called an electrician. Had a wire come loose in breaker box.

I had never seen that before, i guess just poor termination in there from when house was built.
Lungbustr is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 07:36 PM   #49
mpotts
Ten Point
 
mpotts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: texas
Hunt In: Lometa Tx
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berretta Man View Post
My old house the garage and exterior plugs was wired to a GFCI plug in the master bathroom. Drove me nuts when it first tripped. An old electrician told me to check there and he was right.
^^^this is the way my old house was^^^
mpotts is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 04-26-2021, 07:45 PM   #50
kmitchl
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Montgomery, TX
Hunt In: Eldorado
Default

If you are somewhat saavy electrically HF sells a cable tracer for around $20. The circuit needs to be dead to use it but it will allow you to find out whats hooked to what.
kmitchl is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com