Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire

Old 05-10-2022, 07:49 AM   #1
andre3k
Six Point

Hunt In: Burkeville
Default Why pay for kids college?

I guess the obvious answer to this question is because parents want to or feel obligated to pay.

I have two kids, five and seven and right now I don't have any plans to funds their college education. Why? Because my parents didn't pay for my school and it probably the best thing they could have ever done for me.

It was the first time I had to figure it out on my own. If I wanted to graduate college I knew it was completely up to me financially and academically. I was able to pay my way through school with academic scholarships, working and taking out a few small loans. I graduated in 2002 with about 10k in student loans. That experience taught me hard work, planning, and eventually changed my views from being somewhat liberal to a conservative.

Whats everyone else's views on paying for their kids college? Are you delaying or postponing retirement to pay for your kids school?

Sent from my SM-A135U1 using Tapatalk
andre3k is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-10-2022, 07:54 AM   #2
Hart8
Pope & Young

Hunt In: concho co. tx

My son went to a private school in Ovilla,because I wasn't down with the Red Oak school system..I told him I wasn't paying for college.Got his whole life to pay it back If he chooses to.
Hart8 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-10-2022, 07:55 AM   #3
Gclyde28
Ten Point

I'm thinking I'll probably pay for my kids college. But my idea is to make them take out loans during college and only pay off their loans at the end if they actually finish. I don't want to be left holding the bag if they don't finish.

Who knows though, my little dude aint even born yet so I've got plenty of time to decide how I'll actually handle it.
Gclyde28 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 05-10-2022, 07:57 AM   #4
Snapperhead94