Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Raising some money to help out a young man in a bad situation

Mods please delete if not allowed.

As I’ve shared before I am a sober alcoholic so I have a heart for this young man in this situation because I know that if my life were not under control this could have easily been either of my boys one day....

I am a select baseball coach and have a very good friend who’s sister in law and 15 year old son are moving down to live with him and his family to escape an abusive alcoholic father. The kid is a great kid and has had to be the man of the house for a while due to his father being incapable. It has gotten to the point where they had to escape the situation. The young man is a stud ball player and my buddy reached out to me to see if I could help get him some normalcy immediately with them coming down here. I was able to get the kid a late spot on my team for the summer. My friend will be supporting them along with his family so money is going to be a bit tight, so I happily took on the responsibility of helping to raise the kids dues for the summer. I have over half covered by a generous friend and we’re going to be helping cover the uniform fee. I am trying to raise an additional $830 to help pay the remainder of the dues. We’re going to be able to keep any travel expenses down because he will stay with me when out of town.

I understand that some of you will think that youth sports cost is ridiculous and/or unnecessary but I am doing my best to figure out how to give him something else to focus on rather than the hand he has been dealt right now. Please PM me if you have a desire or ability to help. Thanks for looking guys as always I appreciate the family we have here.

PM sent. KJ

Comment

Originally posted by ktjones View Post
      PM sent. KJ
      Thank you sir! Received and just returned. Happy Easter!

Comment