Processing your own wild game

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Processing your own wild game

I wanted to start a thread where people can put in instructions and tips for processing your own meat. I just started this year (actually last week) and it's gonna save me a ton of money.

I'm still learning but I got some helpful advice from here and some other places and thought it would be helpful to pool all of our info together for other would-be home processors.

I started to buy an expensive processor from Cabela's. I think it was a 1/2 hp motor grinder with all the accessories for $239 plus shipping. I had several people on TBH tell me that the $99 grinder from Northern Tool was just fine for the job of processing deer and hogs. I'm glad I listened. Here is the grinder I got.

If you're gonna make sausage (pan or smoked links) you may want to buy a stainless meat mixer for mixing in your fat and seasonings. I bought this one at Northern Tool:

A few other things that you may want to get are a hamburger patty maker that attaches to the grinder (I got mine at Allied Kenco in Houston....www.alliedkenco.com).

Click image for larger version

Name:	TPWD Expo Poster2resized.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	136.1 KB
ID:	24717340

If you don't have something to store meat in prior to and after grinding you may want to invest in some plastic and/or stainless tubs:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ICAM0480 (Small).JPG
Views:	1
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	23816591

Another thing you'll need is a kitchen scale. I bought one at Wal-Mart but I didn't realize it only went up to 5 lbs. I wish I'd splurged on a better one at the meat market.

Now let's talk about the different parts of the deer and how I processed them. Once again....I'm new at most of this and I'm sure others have better ways of doing them. Please chime in! That's what this thread is for.

Backstraps: