when to plant spring plots

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

when to plant spring plots

well, i found a deal on a bunch of tecomate pea mix blend with radishes from academy last week. theyre clearancing all they're hunting season stuff and it was 60% off each bag. picked up 5 bags. i've got a total of maybe 2 acres to plant between 3 plots.

i've only done a fall plot once, so i'm a newbie at this. last weekend i disc'd the new plot areas as we had some rain and i figured it would be easier to break it up. it definately was. ground looks awesome.

question is, when should i go about planting the seeds? this is in robert lee, west texas.

thanks in advance!

Usually around the date of last frost for your area. I'm on the coast so around Valentines day for me.

Comment

sweet... that's what i was thinking. lows have been in the 40's right now... i'll give it a couple more weeks before i start broadcasting and covering.

Comment

Its all about the soil temps for each individual plant. Get you a cheap thermometer and check about an inch below the soil in the morning.

Cow peas need ~ 65 degrees or above for the best germination. Radishes can tolerate much cooler.

Edit: Are those peas in that mix cow peas or winter peas? I bet since they are with radishes they are winter peas and could be planted now or in a few weeks. It will say on the tag. If so that's more of a fall crop....it will work in the spring but it won't last too long when temps get hot. Those radishes will bolt (flower and form seed heads) pretty quick in the spring. Radishes I planted a few years ago bolted pretty quickly once temps got warmer and the deer didn't touch them. You still have some time though.
        Last edited by unclefish; 01-29-2015, 09:48 AM.

Comment

it says cow pea mix with radishes.

Comment

here's the exact mix...