'Official' 2014 Trapping Thread

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'Official' 2014 Trapping Thread

With all the recent trapping threads, it seems like there is enough interest that we should combine all the information in one thread. This can be a thread to share tips and ask questions.

We have been running 14 Duke Coon Cuffs and just recently got 6 Duke #3 Offset traps.
    Taken 8 coons and 1 opossum using tuna and banana moonpies as bait. No luck on the coyote traps, had one dug up. Using dirt hole sets with R-P Red Fox Urine, Grawes Fox #1 "Big Red" and Hawbackers "Fox, coyote bait".

Trapping so far has been a very fun way to pass the 'offseason'
    Attached Files

Im a complete novice at this trapping game. I have 24 of the Dukes DP coon traps. I set 16 of them two nights this last weekend and took out 22 of those suckers using marshmallows and fish oil. I will be back the weekend of the 22nd to try and inflict more damage on the coon population.

One greedy sucker had both front paws down in the trap.
    Last edited by rtp; 02-11-2014, 01:34 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by rtp View Post
      Im a complete novice at this trapping game. I have 24 of the Dukes DP coon traps. I set 16 of them two nights this last weekend and took out 22 of those suckers using marshmallows and fish oil. I will be back the weekend of the 22nd to try and inflict more damage on the coon population.
      I am certainly a novice as well.

22 coons, that is awesome!

I'm adding some fish oil to my online shopping cart right now, last week we set out our traps and baited them with some knock off marshmellow brand and didn't catch a single one. Switched to tuna and moon pies and got 3.. Took 8 coons out in about a 20 acre stretch, gonna switch areas.

I have seen some guys using cat food and sprinkling some fish oil over it. Carry it around in a milk jug and its easy to set traps by 'pouring' some in,

Comment

Originally posted by The General View Post