Rental property owners....question for ya

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rental property owners....question for ya

I’ve been renting my current home for a little over two years now. About three weeks ago we had a really bad storm roll through and it ripped the gate to the back yard fence off it’s hinges. Fence is originally from 2005, so it needed some work anyways, but that’s not really what’s important.

I emailed photos of the gate, and texted photos to the owner, they responded in 3 days or so, which is acceptable, asking for more details on how and when it happened. I gladly explained the situation again via email and text message to which they replied they would have it taken care of.

No one has come to look at the gate or fix it, and I have two dogs, one of which is aggressive towards people that he doesn’t know.

What I am wanting to know, is what is a reasonable amount of time to allow the homeowner for this repair? Nothing bad or anything has happened at this point, and I am making sure to be outside with the dogs for potty time and play time. I’ve also rigged the fence to be somewhat in place with the use of cinder blocks I had lying around.

I am not going to fix the gate myself, as I replaced an entire section of the fence that was damaged during a storm from a year ago with her permission, and when it came time to ask for reimbursement, she said I had permission to replace the fence, not to deduct it from the monthly rent.

I have never missed or been late on a payment and the house is in better condition at this point than when I took the lease over. I’m very much a pacifist and do not want to start any trouble, I generally like the house and the location. Also finding another place at this point in time would be kind of a nightmare with the Covid situation coupled with the fact that I work in oil and gas.