Public Land Buck Down

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Public Land Buck Down

I got my biggest buck this morning on some public land I have been hunting for about 8 years now. It is also only the second buck I have killed out there but not for lack of trying. The first was in 2017 and the hunting was pretty good back then. I moved to South Texas for 2 seasons and when I came back in 2020 it wasn’t the same anymore. It seemed there was a lot more pressure and the deer just weren’t in there like they were before.

I tried a different area last year and I had 2 really big deer on camera but after the first week I wasn’t seeing much and started seeing more people out there. I hunted hard for 2 months and just couldn’t get in range of anything decent. Both big bucks ended up getting killed on private land.

This year I decided to try one of my old spots again. I knew of 3 shooters in the area that I had history with. None of them would score very high but very mature bucks. I ended up finding one of them dead before the season opened. The season started out awful and I was starting to get a little worried.

Yesterday I decided to change things up with the changing weather and wind direction. I got a new spot set up where I felt I could slip in undetected and avoid getting winded. I slipped in this morning without spooking anything and as soon as it got light enough to see a small 8 point and this wider buck came in. At first I thought it was a wide 8 point I was after then I realized it was a new buck. I knew it was the biggest buck I’ve ever had in bow range and he looked mature so I decided to go ahead and take him. He only ran about 60 yards and I heard him crash into a fallen tree. Quickest hunt of my life. I rough scored him at 133 and 18.5 inches wide.
    Attached Files

That is awesome. Congrats!

Comment

Awesome!!
      Very nice buck and good shooting. Congrats on your biggest bow buck.

Comment

Congratulations, he’s a great buck!

Comment