The hay field plot

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The hay field plot

This is my first attempt at a fall food plot. I have planted pastures many times for my cows, but never really made a dedicated plot for deer. Finding a spot to put it was kind of a challenge becuase everything we have is accesible to cows. The only place that the cows cant get to, is the hay field. There is a little spot on the backside that we have never messed with. It's about an acre or so in size, maybe a little bigger, but is really unusable as far as hay goes. Sooo......

Sprayed with Gly 16 days ago. Disced yesterday. Gonna let it sit, and hopefully get a rain on it, and the drag the larger clumps down. Spray again if I have to. Plan to plant oats in early Oct, ahead of rain.

I dont have any pre-gly pics, but it was pretty useless looking. Full of johnson grass & thorn bushes. All that stood prior to discing was a few unruly palmettos..............all that stood after discing, was a few unruly palmettos..

Now for the money shots....
    1. "Big 'Chevon"
    2. Prior to discing. That is a new pipeline ROW in the foreground. Im going to include it too, if they ever get done. they are slooooowwwwwww.
    3. Done. 2 passes. one at full offeset, one at min. offset. (pic taken fron the top of dirt pile in first pic)

will update as it progresses......
    Attached Files

Looks goods What are you going to plant?

Comment

Oats. I might top it with some white clover, as some here have suggested.

Comment

I did oats last year and it turned out great.

Comment

Tear it up Phillip!

Comment

Drug the plot yesterday to knock down the big clods. Ran over it a few times.....looks like its ready for seed now. We've been getting some good little showers lately. Hopefully they keep coming.

The boy helped a little, until he fell asleep.

Comment

1. The finally finished the pipeline. First pic is crossing it.....dirt is pretty flat here.
              2. My helper