Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > The Other Side of the Ranch (Firearms)
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2019, 11:48 PM   #1
Pope
Four Point
 
Pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Arlington
Hunt In: Coleman
Default Leupold CDS

Has any sent their turret to Leupold and then tested it? If so, how well did this work?
Pope is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 01:41 AM   #2
DWA
Ten Point
 
DWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Parker County
Hunt In: Palo pinto Johnson counties and Sonora
Default

Dont send it just enter code online with all your specs and one should arrive in 1-2 weeks
DWA is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 06:01 AM   #3
Wayspr
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Gulfport, MS
Hunt In: Medina County
Default

No personal experience but I have a close friend who swears by it. He’s a pretty knowledgeable guy so I trust his opinion.
Wayspr is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 07:01 AM   #4
popeandyoung151
Ten Point
 
popeandyoung151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Nemo
Hunt In: Wilbarger county, Lake Whitney, MT, CO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWA View Post
Dont send it just enter code online with all your specs and one should arrive in 1-2 weeks
What code do you send? I just got a 5HD and there wasnít any voucher/coupon for a new turret.
popeandyoung151 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 07:19 AM   #5
Texas89
Ten Point
 
Texas89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Round Rock/Columbus
Hunt In: Columbus
Default

I did it and it wasnít very accurate. I know others that swear by it. For me Iíd rather just know my dial and adjust accordingly


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Texas89 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 07:22 AM   #6
sierracharlie338
Pope & Young
 
sierracharlie338's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Republic of Texas (Houston)
Hunt In: Anywhere I can.... seems to be pretty limited these days
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas89 View Post
I did it and it wasnít very accurate. I know others that swear by it. For me Iíd rather just know my dial and adjust accordingly


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Can you expand on that with some details?


Sierracharlie outÖ
sierracharlie338 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 07:26 AM   #7
kae006
Pope & Young
 
kae006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Nebraska
Hunt In: Colorado, Wyoming
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by popeandyoung151 View Post
What code do you send? I just got a 5HD and there wasnít any voucher/coupon for a new turret.


You use the scopes serial number.


https://www.leupold.com/service-supp...cds-dial-order
kae006 is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 07:28 AM   #8
popeandyoung151
Ten Point
 
popeandyoung151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Nemo
Hunt In: Wilbarger county, Lake Whitney, MT, CO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kae006 View Post
Gotcha. Thanks
popeandyoung151 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 07:58 AM   #9
duckhunter175
Six Point
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Dallas
Default

Never been a fan of running a dial to a specific load. I'd strongly consider just sticking to the 1/4 moa dial and learning/verifying the drops for your load.

I do really like the Leupold CDS-ZL2 system.

The older VX6 (non-HD) with CAPPED turrets was the only 'CDS' I had an issue with-- it was not a functionality issue but an issue with Leupold-- I requested my free external CDS dial but ordered it strictly in 1/4 MOA and not specific to any load. The guy on the phone argued with me for a bit saying it was already 1/4 MOA, and just leave the cap off.

I didn't like that idea or the aesthetic and wanted my free dial so that is what I got-- looked great and functioned great.
duckhunter175 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 10:26 AM   #10
Texas89
Ten Point
 
Texas89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Round Rock/Columbus
Hunt In: Columbus
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sierracharlie338 View Post
Can you expand on that with some details?


Sierracharlie outÖ


It wasnít repetitive.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Texas89 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 10:27 AM   #11
sierracharlie338
Pope & Young
 
sierracharlie338's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Republic of Texas (Houston)
Hunt In: Anywhere I can.... seems to be pretty limited these days
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas89 View Post
It wasnít repetitive.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


lol ok.


Sierracharlie outÖ
sierracharlie338 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 10:31 AM   #12
Sika
Pope & Young
 
Sika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Llano
Hunt In: Hill Country and East TX
Default

I've ordered two and found both to be right on out to 500 yards.
Sika is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 11:23 AM   #13
Texas89
Ten Point
 
Texas89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Round Rock/Columbus
Hunt In: Columbus
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sierracharlie338 View Post
lol ok.


Sierracharlie outÖ


To be more specific I entered all the information on their website based off the information I gathered from chrono, temp, etc. not taking any box information or guessing. Upon receiving the dial it would not perform as it was supposed to. Thinking it may be the scope I put the factory moa dial back on and dialed as normal and everything with the optic was fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Texas89 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 12:17 PM   #14
WyoBull
Ten Point
 
WyoBull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wyoming
Hunt In: Wyoming
Default

I have been using CDS dials for a number of years, all of them made for a specific reload I have worked up for them.
My experience has been they are very accurate. Simple to use and as long as I know the distance, it is right on the money.
WyoBull is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 12:37 PM   #15
Geraldg6
Ten Point
 
Geraldg6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: College Station
Hunt In: Snook, Texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas89 View Post
I did it and it wasnít very accurate. I know others that swear by it. For me Iíd rather just know my dial and adjust accordingly


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I had the same experience. Iím fairly certain that itís user error. I did everything Leupold asked for the information. The only thing I kind of half assed was the optic height and I do believe that is what threw off the data.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Geraldg6 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 01:29 PM   #16
sierracharlie338
Pope & Young
 
sierracharlie338's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Republic of Texas (Houston)
Hunt In: Anywhere I can.... seems to be pretty limited these days
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas89 View Post
To be more specific I entered all the information on their website based off the information I gathered from chrono, temp, etc. not taking any box information or guessing. Upon receiving the dial it would not perform as it was supposed to. Thinking it may be the scope I put the factory moa dial back on and dialed as normal and everything with the optic was fine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Did you just give up on it or get with their customer service to see if there was a way to fix it?


Sierracharlie outÖ
sierracharlie338 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 01:33 PM   #17
Texas89
Ten Point
 
Texas89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Round Rock/Columbus
Hunt In: Columbus
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sierracharlie338 View Post
Did you just give up on it or get with their customer service to see if there was a way to fix it?


Sierracharlie outÖ


Itís on my to do list. Iíve been upgrading glass anyway so it was relocated to a shelf and Iíll deal with it at some point


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Texas89 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 01:34 PM   #18
sierracharlie338
Pope & Young
 
sierracharlie338's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Republic of Texas (Houston)
Hunt In: Anywhere I can.... seems to be pretty limited these days
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas89 View Post
Itís on my to do list. Iíve been upgrading glass anyway so it was relocated to a shelf and Iíll deal with it at some point


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I got ya


Sierracharlie outÖ
sierracharlie338 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 03:40 PM   #19
kc5rkg
Eight Point
 
kc5rkg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pearland, Tx
Hunt In: South TX
Default

I have one on my 7mm-08 and it has worked well out to about 350yds. Haven’t tried it beyond that.
kc5rkg is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 08:00 PM   #20
Pope
Four Point
 
Pope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Arlington
Hunt In: Coleman
Default

Seems like mixed results. For those of you who have not found it reliable, how reliable is your gun and load’s accuracy with it at zero before dialing it to an extended range?
Pope is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 09:47 PM   #21
Mconner
Ten Point
 
Mconner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Tomball
Hunt In: Texas,anywhere
Default

They work great, and I mean that my wife first time she ever sat behind my rifle(.300 wm) vx-6 firedot ret. with the CDS turret had no issues banging steel every shot without missing (which impressed me) to 800 yds started at 100yds and just kept going. I would say it worked flawlessly...She also put the hammer to an aoudad at 550yds one dial and one shot I’d say it works great so long as you don’t change your load development.
Mconner is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 10:20 PM   #22
kkp005
Eight Point
 
kkp005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Madisonville
Hunt In: Madison County
Default

I’ve got a vx5hd with the CDS and it’s been dead on
kkp005 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 10:52 PM   #23
Mike D
Pope & Young
 
Mike D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Texas
Hunt In: Haskell County, TX
Default Leupold CDS

They are only as good as the information given. You have to know actual velocity, actual BC of your Bullet (usually verified by shooting at various distances) elevation and to a lesser extent atmospheric conditions.

I have a Kenton knob on a non CDS compatible scope thatís accurate to 800 so far. The other is on a VX6 that is accurate to 525 so far.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Mike D is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-29-2019, 11:03 PM   #24
UltraMax
Ten Point
 
UltraMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Default

I just went with the MOA (too many variables between my home range and the places/elevation I’d be hunting) turret and learned my come ups and got a great ballistic software. It is awesome and a perfect set up for me.
UltraMax is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-30-2019, 07:15 AM   #25
txagyotebuster
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default

My cds on my 2018 APR TBH 6 creed has been dead on out to 525. As far as I've shot. I probably wouldn't have paid for it as i am used to just using moa or mil dials and a dope card but it was free with my vx 5 so i got it. It is easy, no dope card to read.

We'll see. Verdict is still out on whether or not I'll keep it or switch back to the regular moa dial.
txagyotebuster is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-30-2019, 07:22 AM   #26
M.LUNA
Four Point
 
M.LUNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: North Central Texas
Hunt In: Texas, Oklahoma
Default

Man they have the market down to a T like that now??? Shoot it wont be long and we'll be able to rent a guy to come out and shoot a deer for us. LOL... That's crazy.
M.LUNA is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-30-2019, 07:34 AM   #27
bmac
Ten Point
 
bmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Weatherford
Hunt In: Robertson Co. & TPWD
Default

I called mine on for my VX-3 on a 6.5x55 and only took it out to 300 and seemed to work fine. Have a vx6-hd on a 308, but decided not to use it as I setup the gun for super and subsonic hunting (shoot horizontally the same just off vertically 8MOA at 100) so knowing the MOA is more important then a singular use cap for one and having to guess at the other when range varies.
bmac is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-30-2019, 07:36 AM   #28
BlackHogDown
Ten Point
 
BlackHogDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Pearland
Hunt In: Duval County, Livingston
Default

A friend of mine swears by it.

Last edited by BlackHogDown; 12-30-2019 at 07:38 AM.
BlackHogDown is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 12-30-2019, 07:40 AM   #29
txagyotebuster
Eight Point
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default

But again it will only be accurate if you give them good info. Just like any ballistic calculator.

One thing i will say once you get out 5 to 600 plus. It only gives you 50 yd marks. It has a 5 (for 500) 5.5 (for 550) 6 (for 600) etc. So if you are at say 575 you are sorts guessing, you split the difference from 5.5 to 6. Closer it's acceptable but farther out when the bullet starts dropping faster one or 2 clicks off can make a big difference. 1/4 to 1/2 moa difference at 700 yds is pretty significant.
txagyotebuster is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com