Proud to be a veteran

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Proud to be a veteran

Last Friday and Saturday I was very fortunate to have the opportunity to travel to Washington to visit all the Veteran Memorials with 37 other veterans on the DFW Honor Flight.
    There were World War II, Korean and Vietnam Veterans on the flight. If you are a veteran and have never been on an Honor Flight ..... take the time and look it up and sign up to go. If you served you deserve to go and will be glad you did! (No matter when you served.)

As an Aviation Electronics Technician E5 who served during Vietnam and whose Squadron VA-113 was assigned to the USS Ranger.

This trip reinforced my pride to have serviced in the Navy and to be an American!
    Attached Files

Great post. Thank you for your service, sir.

Comment

Great post and trip. It took me over 20 yrs to go see the wall. I'm a Vet, and one of my friends is named on the wall.

Comment

Thankyou for your service sir. And to all of our vets that stood strong to defend what little freedom we have left, we solute you.

Comment

I have many friend's names on that wall. Not sure I could handle the emotion if I ever stood in front of it.

Comment

Excellent! Congratulations on getting to go on the Honor Flight. How does one get chosen? Do you submit a request/application?

Comment

I’ve been on several flights where they had groups doing the honor flight from DFW. Talked to many of them and it was an awesome experience as just a spectator.