Public land deer..........

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Public land deer..........

This is my first year hunting public land and I have a question. First let me say 95% of my hunting is done during the week. Okay the area that I have been hunt seems to be pretty good, but I don’t care how early I get to the woods there is always deer waiting on me as soon as I start walking down the trail to my stand there goes those eyes and the snorts. The bad thing is that I don’t think there is another way to get to my stand. Has anyone else experienced this on public land? Any suggestions.

You have to get there earlier, or find another way in. Otherwise, find another place to hunt. If you scare them out, the hunt is over before it started.

Comment

are you hunting a bedding area? Sounds like you may walking through a bedding area.

Comment

It’s not a bedding area but a long narrow oaks head it may be 75 yards wide in some areas and 20 in others it runs down to a thick bottom. It’s a good funnel. It has trails on either side that you can walk.

Comment

You'll probably "spoil" the area for a couple of hours but other deer might come along,especially during the rut. Or the deer you spooked might relax and come back by. I wouldn't worry about it too much. Just try to make as little ruckus as possible going in. I've hunted the WMA's in n.e. Texas over 25 years and see tons of action around 9 am,even though I often spook deer going in at 5 am.

Comment

Thank's for the advice.

Comment

Originally posted by grigg061 View Post