Metal Workers - Opinions on Milwaukee metal circular saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Metal Workers - Opinions on Milwaukee metal circular saw

I'm needing a way to cut 1/4" plate steel and after some research, I'm considering one of these. Any of you have experience with this tool? From the sound of things, its almost as easy as running a circular saw on plywood. Thoughts? is there a better option? These are running about $375 and I'd like to stay in that price range for some kind of cutting option. Please help!

I've never personally used a dry cut saw, but I have heard good things about that Milwaukee. If you're not working with metal everyday, those are probably the way to go. Torches are expensive, and always a hassle.

Comment

^^^^^what Arrowthreat said

Comment

I am a hobbyist. I had a saw similar to this one. it worked good for thinner metals, but my experience was the blade dulled quickly on thicker stuff (1/4" range), and the blades are very expensive.

Comment

Thanks, fellas. Really leaning this way. May get a lot of use per project, but only a big project or two a year.

Comment

Originally posted by Rick View Post
            I am a hobbyist. I had a saw similar to this one. it worked good for thinner metals, but my experience was the blade dulled quickly on thicker stuff (1/4" range), and the blades are very expensive.
            How many cuts before needing replacement, you think?

Comment

My buddy that has one said the blade life is pretty comparable to a chop saw blade/wheel. The only difference is that the blades are a lot more expensive for a dry cut saw. I don't weld everyday, but if I did, I would consider one to use in lieu of my chop saw and torch.

Comment