Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Game Management/Age & Score/Trailcam Pics

Old 09-29-2019, 11:30 PM   #1
ctom87
Eight Point

Hunt In: Nolan County
Default How to field score

I thought about posting a pic of a buck and asking for scores, but I think my expectations would be off compared to what yall think.

Instead, I would like to ask when yall score a buck based on a picture posted, how do you do it? I would be really interested. I think the buck I have is 4.5 yr old and would score around 150. I would like to know how you score a buck and after learning what you do, see if this changes my guess.

FYI, I am new to hunting and scoring, this is why I think on this particular buck I think I ma over estimating.
ctom87 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-29-2019, 11:36 PM   #2
ctom87
Eight Point

I should preface by saying that I saw a cheat where you start with a baseline 100 and count the inches on 1 side if it's a typical buck. Double that +100 should give you a score. I think the +100 part is off.
Old 09-30-2019, 12:23 AM   #3
Hoss163
Pope & Young

Hunt In: Oklahoma

The thing is you need to see a lot of horns to be in the ball park of scoring off of pictures are even on the hoof . Watch videos of people scoring deer on the hoof score them yourself and see how close you are ? You learn after scoring a few that there usually is a average on horns as far as mass , beams and tines look at alert deers ears and on average a deers ears from tip to tip in a alert position is around 16” that helps you get your spread . So in short start your scoring on a average of a basic whitetail buck . Which is usually 15” spread 28” mass 21” beams and on a 10 point about 44 “ of tine length and you can go up from there are down on some cases .
Hoss163 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-30-2019, 12:25 AM   #4
Hoss163
Pope & Young