Arrow question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Arrow question

I hope this isn't going to be too long of a read. And I think I know the answer already (Go shoot a bunch of different kinds, and see), but I'd still like to through it out there for some input.

I've switched from wheel bow (which I shot for over 20 years), to a long bow which I love! I'm shooting 49lbs @28". My shooting has been indoors at various ranges, usually 7, 10, 15 & 20 yards. And a 3D course. I also shoot instinctive.

I started shooting Gold tip traditional arrows, (GPI 7.8) 600 spine, w/ 175 grain tips. I was shooting pretty well w/ them, then swathed to Warriors (GPI 5.7) w/ 175 grain tips, and shot better. Both arrows are full length, not cut. I used to shoot 28" arrows w/ my wheel bow, FYI.

All of that to ask is, How much of a factor does GPI play? My Warrior arrows seemed to shot flatter for me. So that got me wondering.

I'm looking at ordering more arrows, but not sure what route to take? How much of a factor would it be if I went to a 500 spine, and cut the length? Drop to 150 grain field point?

Thanks for your input!

Arrow question

GPI doesn’t really mean squat, unless you are trying to work up a high FOC arrow.

Generally, and only up to a certain point, a heavier arrow is better for hunting because you will have more momentum and better penetration on critters. A total arrow weight in the 9-11gpp (not gpi) range is a great hunting weight arrow. If you are only target shooting, then a lighter arrow with flatter trajectory makes perfect sense.

Good tune is more important than anything, no matter what you are shooting at!!!!!!

In answer to your last question, a .500 spine arrow that is well tuned would work great.

Bisch

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

Thanks Bisch!

Comment

If you are shooting great with 600’s and 175 grain points and buy 500’s and cut em down with a lighter point They will be too stiff. Stick with what works! Good luck.