First time shooting a bar hog

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First time shooting a bar hog

Shot this guy tonight. No ears and no jewels. The last picture he is laying in front of a ranger for size reference. Decent size pig.

Not sure why the pictures keep loading upside down.
    Attached Files

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Comment

I have heard of people that will cut a boar, then cut off the ears to make him dog dangerous. With no ears to grab, a catch dog doesn't stand a chance. They do this because they don't like dog hunters.

Comment

Very cool!

Comment

I’ve heard of it being done, this is my first time seeing one that has been cut. Glad to get rid of him.

Comment

They are lazy and carry more fat. Usually better table fare

Comment

Nice job. Most my buddies will notch the ears to identify a bar hog, but not remove ears completely. Should be good eatin.

Comment

Here's a barr hog my buddy killed and gave me last year. He had some cutters on him. In exchange for the meat, I did a euro mount for him. Im shur the hog topped #400. He had sides thick enough to make hot smoked bacon.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by geezer56 View Post
                  I have heard of people that will cut a boar, then cut off the ears to make him dog dangerous. With no ears to grab, a catch dog doesn't stand a chance. They do this because they don't like dog hunters.
                  Learn something new every day.....................

Comment

Lol go post those pics on face book ^^

Comment

Cut and release used to be common down in the thicket and around Lufkin, Red Town. Had an old coon huntin buddy down there that did it and then go back in the winter and catch/kill the barr hogs. They put on a lot of weight and fat after cutting and are way mo better eating.

Comment

Nice dental equipment, fuglyazz tongue !

Comment