Laguna Atascosa wants to let TPWD run the hunts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Laguna Atascosa wants to let TPWD run the hunts

Ok Laguna Atascosa is considering turning the refuge hunts over to TPWD to run. This would drastically change the cost, days allowed to hunt and hunt rules. Please send an email to each of the below email links protesting this change. I attached the email I sent at the bottom. Feel free to modify it to your liking.

robert_jess@fws.gov

imer_delagarza@fws.gov

leo_gustafson@fws.gov

boyd_blihovde@fws.gov

RDTuggle@fws.gov

My family and I have been bowhunting the refuge for 19 years. During that time I've seen the hunt days cut from an 8 day hunt to a 5 day hunt and the hunt cost double. Now the refuge is considering letting TPWD take over the hunts? I have also been putting in for TPWD bowhunts for 19 years. I've only been drawn twice. Those TPWD hunts were overly restricted. I had to stay on my little "assigned area" and even though its called a 5 day hunt they start at noon on the 1st day and end at noon the 5th day. The refuge hunt is so much better because of the freedom to move around and actually hunt. Please do not turn the great Laguna Atascosa hunt into another overly restricted and short TPWD draw hunt. The Laguna Atascosa hunt is the only opportunity that my family and I can count on to be able to hunt every year.

I think the hunts were better when TPWD ran things . I started hunting in the the early 80's and never remember any of the restrictions your talking about .
    Where did you hunt that you got drawn that had the rules of staying in your area ?

Comment

The TPWD could do it like they do at Granger Lake. Pay for an AHP then hunt all you want, and have a season drawing for deer.

Comment