gator hunting tips?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gator hunting tips?

we got our hands on a couple tags this year, and have never gone out and set lines for them. do any of you guys that have done it before have any tips?

Choot em!!

Comment

Dont take any tips from Amos Moses, he only got one arm!

Comment

Don't shoot them in deeper than waist deep water......they sink fast. Go scout an area at night and hang lines the next morning- higher bait=bigger gator.

Comment

Don't watch "Crawl" before you go out.

Comment

I have been doing it for about the past 10 years on my own and usually get 25-35 tags each year. First thing you need is bait, and you need it to have some scent. I usually got to Walmart or whatever grocery store and buy a bag of the frozen chicken quarters. I also pick up a couple containers of chicken livers. I buy a 5 gallon bucket with a lid that snaps on and stays good. About 2 days before I plan on setting lines, I pour the quarters and livers into the bucket, close the lid and let it sit outside. Fair warning, it is going to stink pretty bad when you go to bait your hooks. You're also going to want to have some rubber gloves because you don't want that stuff getting on you.

I order my line and hooks from netsandmore.com I usually go with a 12/0 hook and 900-1100 lb line. If you can find someone who has bamboo in their backyard go cut some sturdy pieces and I usually tie a heavy duty clothes pin hanging from the end of the bamboo about 6 inches.