Public land questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Public land questions

So I’ve been cowboying most my life outside of the military, anyways my life has changed quite a bit in the last year and I don’t have access to ranches and land to hunt anymore so I was thinking about hunting public land. I have never done this before and was wondering what everyone’s thoughts were. I know there will be tons of different opinions so I’ll take them all and try my best to make my own decision, but I hope there’s some out there that have a lot of experience with public land who can give me advice, the ups and downs, tips, best places to look, best public land, best way to avoid hunters and areas with a lot of pressure. I know living in Texas I’m sure it’s tough but I’m all ears....I live in Fort Worth area so I know about the LBJ Grasslands but am gonna look at others places as well, thanks in advance

Yep tpwd drawings are getting almost impossible to get selected.

Comment

Originally posted by brokeno View Post
      Yep tpwd drawings are getting almost impossible to get selected.
      So it’s a draw system?

Comment

Pretty much you have 3 options. The best hunting is through the draw system but it’s dang hard to get drawn (I’ve been drawn on 2 hunts in 6 years of putting in for about 20 a year) the other is national forest in east Texas. I’ve never done it but you can be successful if you are willing to outwork the next guy and some big deer get killed there every year. The 3rd is other federally owned property such as Aransas NWR. They do a draw but draw a ton of hunters and the hunting can be quite difficult. (Haven’t personally done this either)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

National Forest service
          Army Corps of Engineers
          TP&W draw system
          And used to be USFW Refuges.
          There are also some river system hunts that mostly go unheard about (till now ) for a reason.

Comment

luck of the draw.