How Crowded is Old Sabine Bottom WMA?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How Crowded is Old Sabine Bottom WMA?

I am extremely new to bowhunting (as in my first bow arrives UPS tomorrow) and have been reading about public hunting opportunities around the Tyler area (Athens technically). It looks like Old Sabine Bottom WMA is the place to go for deer. I thought about Lake Whitney/Lake Aquilla where I have turkey hunted many times, but Old Sabine is an hour closer and that means 2 hours more in the woods every time I go out. But I digress...

How crowded is OSB? Looking at the map I was planning on hunting the west side because the east side has the ATV trails (and my short time in east Texas has shown me that about everyone and there mother has an ATV). I was figuring that if I am willing to walk then I should be able to get away from the crowds. Or does everyone else have the same idea therefore making the west side more crowded than the east side?

Any help would really be appreciated.

if you walk be ready to walk far to escape the crowd. then be ready to drag a kill out on a very long drag. i have an atv and have never run into any traffic or anyone driving up to my hunting site period. trust me having an atv on this very huge piece of property has its perc's.

Comment

Osb

You will need 100% water proof boots (knee high) if you are going to hunt the westside of 1804. You dont have to wear them all the time just make sure you have them everytime it rains. That is where I started hunting OSB, saw plenty of deer but walking in the flooded water will ruin your hunt.

I only know of one person taking a deer last season and he did not have an atv. OSB has plenty of hogs and deer but they get smart as soon as the season starts.