Turn Off Feeders

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Turn Off Feeders

How many of you turn your corn feeders off after deer season? I have been running 2 corn feeders year round for 3 years and it has not helped out as far as seeing deer. I really believe there are not many deer where my property is and too many hunters. And the price of corn is outrageous. I'm thinking next year to start running PVC feeders and hand corn around August - September and be done with it.

I only keep a couple corn feeders running in the offseason if I want to shoot pigs

Comment

I feed corn through March usually. By then the browse is starting to green up. My wheat stays cropped close to the ground until browse starts to grow. Usually when the wheat starts to grow I’m out of corn anyway. For me, it’s more about helping the deer than it is about attracting them. And I don’t need no stinkin’ hogs !

Comment

We let one or two run for rooters. Then stop in may so rooters leave.

Comment

I feed 7 corn and one protein feeder that feeds 3 times a day year round. My neighbors can’t seem to figure out why my place has all the awesome animals.

Comment

I just reduce the corn to a minimum. They seem to like the 30k pounds of protein I feed free choice year round better.

Comment

If you’re gonna feed em, feed them te good stuff. Protein and cottonseed.

Comment

Continuous for me though I do dial it down a bit when spring hits.

Comment

Feed Protein, as much as they can eat or as much as you can afford, whichever comes first.....

Comment

I don’t do it but, I hear Hand corn gets deer used to your scent and could help.

Comment

Originally posted by webb09 View Post
                      If you’re gonna feed em, feed them te good stuff. Protein and cottonseed.