Reply
Go Back   TexasBowhunter.com Community Discussion Forums > Topics > Around the Campfire
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2021, 12:34 AM   #1
Fargus
Pope & Young
 
Fargus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willis
Hunt In: DeWitt
Default Why is it....

So hard to have a reliable HVAC system. Replaced the outdoor condenser 4-5 years ago and replaced the furnace/air handler last spring. This evening we got home after practice and it isn't working. The t-stat clicks like it should and reads (cool on), but neither the condenser or handler kick on. Switch over to heat and the furnace does not kick on despite the t-stat clicking and reading 'heat on'. The interior breaker has been checked and reset. It was not tripped.
Fargus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 12:35 AM   #2
The Skunk Ape
Nubbin' Buck
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Hunt In: Robertson county
Default

Probably a float switch check the drain pan in the attic
The Skunk Ape is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 12:39 AM   #3
Fargus
Pope & Young
 
Fargus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willis
Hunt In: DeWitt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Skunk Ape View Post
Probably a float switch check the drain pan in the attic
Drain pan is empty and dry.
Fargus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 06:33 AM   #4
twistedmidnite
Ten Point
 
twistedmidnite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gilmer, TX
Hunt In: texas
Default

Theres a 2.5 amp fuse inside the air handler cover. Kill all power, pull the cover and check it. I have a pack inside my handler cabinet because it pops when I change from cold to hot occasionally.
twistedmidnite is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 08:19 AM   #5
Fargus
Pope & Young
 
Fargus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Willis
Hunt In: DeWitt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twistedmidnite View Post
Theres a 2.5 amp fuse inside the air handler cover. Kill all power, pull the cover and check it. I have a pack inside my handler cabinet because it pops when I change from cold to hot occasionally.
I popped my cover open, but didn't see any fuses. Only thing I saw was a breaker.
Fargus is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 09:10 AM   #6
Snapperhead94
Spike
 
Snapperhead94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Corpus
Hunt In: Hebbronville
Default

Check the capacitor
Snapperhead94 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 10:07 AM   #7
flywise
Pope & Young
 
flywise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tx
Hunt In: Blanco, Nacadoches,NewMexico,Colorado
Default

I had a unit on my old house that was 35 years old and worked fine. The unit in my current house is maybe 8 years old and in the 6 years I have owned it I have had several issues.
Seems like they make junk to keep people employed
flywise is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 10:17 AM   #8
twistedmidnite
Ten Point
 
twistedmidnite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gilmer, TX
Hunt In: texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fargus View Post
I popped my cover open, but didn't see any fuses. Only thing I saw was a breaker.
Ok, I'm no technician lol . My fuse is on a board that resembles this picture. Iv put in several fuses and have also replaced the whole board once. System is a heat pump thats 12 years old.
Attached Images
 
twistedmidnite is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 10:40 AM   #9
StrayDog
Ten Point
 
StrayDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Funky Town
Hunt In: Coleman County
Default

Check the capacitor(s) on your condenser. It sounds like your t-stat is sending a start signal but if the condenser fan and/or compressor don’t start you won’t get cooling. I’m assuming you have a heat pump and this would explain neither heating or cooling working.

It could also be your condenser fan motor or compressor. However, Texas heat destroys capacitors - I have to replace mine every 2-3 years so keep extras on hand for when it fails (always happens to me on a holiday weekend.)
StrayDog is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 10:45 AM   #10
Duckologist
Ten Point
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: SW Louisiana
Default

Yup prolly the capacitor
Duckologist is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 11:53 AM   #11
Anteloper
Six Point
 
Anteloper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Wolfforth
Hunt In: Texas
Default

Trane dealer say they use to last 30+ years but expect to replace them every 5 years now
Anteloper is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 12:36 PM   #12
TA_Fab
Eight Point
 
TA_Fab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Default

As others have said, capacitor. Had this exact issue a lot when we lived in Galveston.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TA_Fab is online now   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 12:40 PM   #13
TCB
Ten Point
 
TCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denton, Tx
Default

Hope you get a quick fix....I'm on week 6 of no AC but yet my electric bill was 10% higher than last year.
TCB is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 12:46 PM   #14
Aggies96
Four Point
 
Aggies96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Default

If the air handler isn't coming on as well (as in no air flow) that's probably not the capacitor on the condenser unit outside. That shouldn't affect the air handler pushing air as it can run with the condenser powered off completely. I would check on the AHU itself for a fuse on the control board as mentioned above. You might also google the specific unit on line and look for trouble shooting posts. Just sounds like a fuse or maybe a contactor/relay is out on the AHU.
Aggies96 is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Old 09-15-2021, 01:36 PM   #15
twistedmidnite
Ten Point
 
twistedmidnite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gilmer, TX
Hunt In: texas
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggies96 View Post
If the air handler isn't coming on as well (as in no air flow) that's probably not the capacitor on the condenser unit outside. That shouldn't affect the air handler pushing air as it can run with the condenser powered off completely. I would check on the AHU itself for a fuse on the control board as mentioned above. You might also google the specific unit on line and look for trouble shooting posts. Just sounds like a fuse or maybe a contactor/relay is out on the AHU.
Yea, I forgot about the low voltage contacts. Iv had to replace that as well. I can't remember if my inside unit would still come on or not when the contacts went bad.
twistedmidnite is offline   Reply With Quote Back To The Top
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 1999-2012, TexasBowhunter.com