Employers: Hiring tricks and tips

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Employers: Hiring tricks and tips

Looking for tips when hiring employees. I have done it as an employee and now as employer. To put it bluntly, I'm not good at it.

People lie about everything, overstate skills and experience etc.

How do you see through it? There seem to be so few good candidates, how to weed out the bad ones ( the majority )

It's been a few years but I always watched their mannerisms when asked tough questions.

Comment

References from previous employers...pay attn to their replies.

Recommendation letters....confirmed.

Comment

Sometimes you just have to wing it........

Comment

Pay them by the day no strings attached till you can see what their capabilities are. If they need a job and want to work they should be up to the challenge. Kind of a trial/probation period.

Comment

Give me an example of what position you're hiring for.Hiring a routine production guy/mechanic/hydraulic guy..They all get different questions..It's not fool proof,but you can weed them out pretty quick..Have you ever worked shift work?It's a requirement.You'll be on call,it's a requirement..Whether it is,or isn't..Let's you know real quick,whether they're hungry or not..What's the most awful job you've ever had?
            Landscaper,iron workers helper,plumbers helper..Would you rather build a race car,or drive it?
            I've got a million of em..Makes em open up,and kinda show you a personal side..Again,it's not 100%,but I've got a pretty good average.

Comment

During their interview, purposely drop a pen. If they jump up and hand it back to you hire them... if they just stare at it or wait for you to pick it up move them along...

Comment

This is a skilled trade. Blue collar. Hourly. Non supervisory.

Comment

You might need to restructure your pay system.