To become a Taxidermist?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

To become a Taxidermist?

Thinking of making a pivot and starting my own business.

Anyone have any insight, tips or tricks?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#1. Be honest about turnaround times.

Comment

Are you already a taxidermist.

Comment

Well, better be good at dealing with inpatient people, rotten hides, impatient people

Comment

Focus on bobcats. :-)

Comment

I am sure there are many full time taxidermist on here that can speak to it more than I can. I have been doing taxidermy for about 15 years as a hobby. I typically only mount friends and family members animals.

Unless you have a client base of people that go to Africa, or your doing a ton of animals I do not see how someone can make a fulltime living in this craft alone.

Again, I am sure others will chime in with much more than I know. to give you an idea of the break down the costs for a typical whitetail shoulder mount you are pushing $200 in supplies and tanning alone.

So if you are charging $550 ($350) gross profit. You would need to complete nearly 200 shoulder mounts to make $60k gross.

Not to squash your dreams, just adding some perspective.

Comment

Originally posted by Brinkley View Post
              I am sure there are many full time taxidermist on here that can speak to it more than I can. I have been doing taxidermy for about 15 years as a hobby. I typically only mount friends and family members animals.

Unless you have a client base of people that go to Africa, or your doing a ton of animals I do not see how someone can make a fulltime living in this craft alone.

Again, I am sure others will chime in with much more than I know. to give you an idea of the break down the costs for a typical whitetail shoulder mount you are pushing $200 in supplies and tanning alone.

So if you are charging $550 ($350) gross profit. You would need to complete nearly 200 shoulder mounts to make $60k gross.