Austin Restaurant Recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Austin Restaurant Recommendations

My wife and I are going to spend a few days in Austin for our anniversary. Yes I know it is full of Californians and hipsters but we are not moving there. I lived in Austin for a short time after I graduated but it's been probably 15 years and things have drastically changed.

I am looking for some recommendations for great restaurants in Austin. Anything from casual places like Mexican, Asian, Burgers on up to high end fine dining. Probably not looking for BBQ unless it is unique (I have done Franklins a couple times and it is great but not what we are looking for). I think I am aware of a lot of the classics like Matt El Rancho (if these type places are even still around.)

We will be staying downtown so restaurants in this area would be the best but we are not opposed to driving. Just looking for some good places for lunch and dinner. Maybe 1-2 high end places.

Also if you know of any good bars downtown that are worth going to for people in late 30's/early 40's. Not looking for a club or place full of young hipsters. If they have a good bourbon selection and good cocktails it would be best.
    Last edited by RJK70; 07-07-2022, 08:22 AM.

Man I hate to beat this horse because I always throw it out but my wife and I have Eddie V's downtown as our favorite as far as higher end joints. The one at The Arboretum is right up there with it. There was a funky little place called Reunion 19 that super jam up but I'm not sure if they're still there through the entire covid crap. I don't eat BBQ in Austin, Tx and that's that but this is my very humble opinion. Truluck's always had really good stone crab claws but not sure on the season.

Comment

My perfect day eating in Austin:

Breakfast - Cisco's
      Lunch - Dai Due ( Jesse Griffiths wild game)
      Dinner - Ranch 616
      Late Night Snack - Via 313

Comment