Overreacting or Paranoid?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Overreacting or Paranoid?

So I am an ag teacher and have been for the last 12 years. My wife and I had always taught in the same district until she went back to school. This meant we went through our day together for the most part and I was home with her after dark. Plus, I was only 10 minutes away in case there was any issue. I always traveled a bit because of my job and never thought much about leaving her alone. For the most part she usually went to stay with her parents, so I didn’t have much concern about her being home alone. Fast forward to 2 years ago she went to school full time and I became in charge of our boys for the majority of the afternoons and evenings. This usually meant that I was home before her and rarely was she home alone after dark. Well, this year I moved jobs and now have a longer commute with the same long hours. Hasnt been a big issue for us but has been a bit of an adjustment. So tonight I call her on my way home to let her know I am on my way. A few minutes later I get a call back from her asking how to get into my bedside safe and if the gun in there is loaded. I asked why and she said some strange woman just came to he door and didn’t speak very good English apparently trying to sell something. Mind you, this is 8:30 at night. Im freaking out at this point thinking the worst. I turned my flashers on and flew home at 80-90 thinking that it was a group of thugs casing my house waiting for a time to break in or at the least steal something from the outside. I get home and all is well, but I give her a long lecture about opening the door after dark while alone, home invasions, rape, murder, and all the bad stuff on the news nowadays. I can tell she is a little bit upset at that point so I ease up.