Number of applications to selection?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Number of applications to selection?

I was running through the total of TPWD, Big Time Hunts, and TYHP applications this year and I came up with 77 and have drawn 3 so far. Last year I had around 55 and wasn't drawn at all. I was curios to know what other people are coming up with.

What's is your number of applications to selection ratio?

I usually put in for a couple of archery hunts and maybe a e-postcard hunt. Then my brother includes me on the gun hunts which is usually around 4 total. So probably a total of 8 or so and I usually draw something every 2 to 3 years.

Comment

I've applied for 30+ hunts for 7 years now- been to Black Gap for archery mule deer and James Daughtrey for archery deer.
      So 2 for 210 give or take.

Comment

ive been putting my boys in for 5 years now, between the 3 of us i probably enter about 20 different hunts a year, only the ones i consider "good." i have 9pts in a couple categories for myself but before my boys were able to hunt i only put in for 3 or 4 hunts a year in those categories.

the first year my son and i drew the chap for archery, he had 1pt and i think i had 4, i was only trying to get another point that year because i knew we wouldnt be able to go.

we didnt draw anything for a couple years then last year they drew youth GDE at powderhorn with 3 and 4pts, this year they drew youth gator at neches with 4pts (again only trying for a point because we have football and cant go), and i just drew hagerman with 4pts.

so 4 draws out of roughly 100 chances in the last 5 years.

Comment

Originally posted by jshouse View Post
          ive been putting my boys in for 5 years now, between the 3 of us i probably enter about 20 different hunts a year, only the ones i consider "good." i have 9pts in a couple categories for myself but before my boys were able to hunt i only put in for 3 or 4 hunts a year in those categories.