Fishing Port A w/out a boat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fishing Port A w/out a boat

We're headed to Port A next Friday to get away and de-compress after our youngest finished up his senior year of baseball and graduates next Wed. I'm not taking my boat but I wouldn't mind trying to do a little fishing while we're there. I'm not experienced in fishing Port A without a boat. I've never done a party boat type trip but I'm open if others have had good experiences. I'm all open to other options as well (jetty/wading, etc..). Right now the weather is shaky, looks like some scattered showers and 15mph winds Fri/Sat/Sun so I will have to play it by ear. We're gonna try to do an offshore trip later in the summer for him and a hand full of his buddies for a graduation gift. That will be out of POC. Thanks in advance.

Jetty's are a good option. I like packers channel on the Padre island side. Fish a shrimp feeling or 4 ft under a popping cork as close to the rocks as you can.

Comment

I’ve had some really fun trips on the party boats out of Port A. You’re a bit early for snapper and kingfish. Bring your patience and it can be fun. Mostly vermillion snapper the last few 8 hour trips.

IMHO- the N jetty has the most consistent opportunity at quality trout, reds and drum for shore bound anglers. The price of the trip went up recently.

I spoke to someone last week that was having good success on the gulf pier at night in recent weeks

The offshore forecast looks terrible this weekend

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

We are fishing near there today/tonight

Comment

I second the North Jetty. But go prepared and take the first boat over. Never know what you may catch off that jetty.

Comment