ISO outdoor fireplace mantel in the DFW area

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ISO outdoor fireplace mantel in the DFW area

We are building our new home and looking for a weathered rustic solid wood mantel for our outdoor fireplace. I’m new at this so feel free to educate me as I’m not entirely sure what the preferred wood (pine, cedar, ash, elm?) is needed to withstand the outdoor elements? The fireplace itself will be stone and under a covered patio but obviously outside nonetheless. We prefer it to look “reclaimed barnwood type”...maybe similar to the below pics found online.
    Anyone in the TBH world know of a good source in the DFW area that won’t break the bank?

Last edited by RascalArms; 03-21-2021, 10:43 AM.

Those are really cool. Where did you find those

Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by Redraider View Post
      Those are really cool. Where did you find those

Sent from my SM-G781U using Tapatalk
      Yeah, some of those are really cool. I saw them posted on FB Marketplace but the guy is in Kentucky and.......well......there’s that

Comment

hardensawmill.com

Just west of Sanger.

They are great to work with, we bought a mantle, then a table and now are considering some cabinets.

Comment

There’s a sawmill up in tioga that our company bought some stuff from a few years ago. I was looking around as they loaded me up and saw some awesome looking mantles. Talked to a guy about them and they seemed to know their stuff. Cedar Depot was the name I think.

Comment

Break that bank!!!

Comment

Look like railroad ties

Comment

Check out m and g sawmill in Huntsville. It’s worth the drive.

M&G Sawmill - Purveyor of Fireplace Mantels, Slabs, Bar tops made from Aromatic Cedar Mesquite, Walnut and other woods native to Texas. We also Carry Hardwood Lumber, quarter sawn red or white oak, mesquite, hickory, pecan, Osage orange, walnut.

Comment

Thanks guys...anyone else?

Comment