HELP Public Vs Guided Elk Hunt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP Public Vs Guided Elk Hunt

I'm looking to take my first Elk hunt in 2020 and would like to get your opinions on the best route to take. I found a Guided hunt in Wyoming that i liked, i met the outfitter at the Houston TTHA Extravaganza. I planned on taking one guided hunt to get my bearings (I have no experience calling or hunting Elk in any form) and the next hunt try my luck on public land.

What would y'all suggest? For a first timer with limited experience. Stick with the guided hunt for my first go around or try my luck with public land (which is the ultimate goal)?

Note: i'm not picky on what i kill, if i take the guided hunt i'm gonna kill a bull but the ultimate goal for me is the meat, so having to kill a trophy isn't a factor for me. I would be satisfied with a good cow.

Originally posted by MatthewStatum View Post
    I'm looking to take my first Elk hunt in 2020 and would like to get your opinions on the best route to take. I found a Guided hunt in Wyoming that i liked, i met the outfitter at the Houston TTHA Extravaganza. I planned on taking one guided hunt to get my bearings (I have no experience calling or hunting Elk in any form) and the next hunt try my luck on public land.

What would y'all suggest? For a first timer with limited experience. Stick with the guided hunt for my first go around or try my luck with public land (which is the ultimate goal)?

Note: i'm not picky on what i kill, if i take the guided hunt i'm gonna kill a bull but the ultimate goal for me is the meat, so having to kill a trophy isn't a factor for me. I would be satisfied with a good cow.
    Public land self guided. There is just too much information out there to not do it that way for what you are looking for. If you wanted a big bull, I would say do guided.