Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

6 Days and Counting...Let's Talk Tracking and Tracking Tools!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

6 Days and Counting...Let's Talk Tracking and Tracking Tools!

We in the archery world know that a successful bow hunt also comes with a successful job of tracking. Sure there are those few instances where our target animal expires within sight but it's rare and should be celebrated. So, let's talk about the other 95 percent of the time where our animal runs and we are left only with a trail of blood to follow. I'm no expert in tracking but I will say I've had my share of trails to follow and consider myself pretty dang good at it. But I'm good at it only because of experience and some tools I've learned to use at night that were suggested to me by other bow hunters. So, let's try to help other bow hunters here by listing the tools you've learned to use for a successful track, day or night.

(Let's leave the obvious suggestion of "Dogs" out of it as my goal for a successful track is to not have to call for a dog, but certainly wouldn't hesitate to do so.)

Tool #1 - a good headlamp and it doesn't get any better(imo) than the 40KAP from Sniper Hog Lights(thanks Rob and Joe at Sniper) I've tracked side by side with folks using what they'd call "a light" and they usually just give up their search and follow along. A good head lamp is as important as the bow in your hand. Why are you gonna spend $20 to find your trophy bow kill?? Seriously??
    Call or order from the Sniper guys.

I'll leave a story at the bottom of this post to tell y'all how I seriously believe the headlamp kept me from being in quite a predicament lately.