Buckshot and deer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Buckshot and deer

I know hunting deer with buckshot (or with a shotgun in general), isn’t too popular in Texas like it is in the south and Midwest.

Casting slugs and buckshot reloading has been a big hobby of mine for the past 6-8 years or so. It’s now kinda took off to where I’ve got the largest buck and Slug reloading page on Facebook that’s sponsored, started a YouTube channel, and now I’m a contributing author on The Reloading Network.

Anyway, I’ve spent a lot of time developing right pattern buckshot loads at 50 yards. Last night, I was able to connect on a young doe at 56 yards, my longest buckshot kill to date.

This load is stout, as I was waiting on one of the mature bucks to step out. It’s 18 pellets of nickel-plated buckshot sitting on top of a hefty charge of Blue Dot, all crammed in a 3.5” hull. The choke tube I used was from Kick’s IND called the Buck Kicker Full choke. I should note that not all buckshot pattern great with a full choke. I have loads that pattern tighter with a mod choke than full.

14/18 pellets hit. All passed through. She was quartering away and like the bow hunter in me, I aimed for the back rib. Shot should have been a couple inches forward.

Anyway, she didn’t take a step. Hinds, shoulders, and loins where all intact.

Truly, a devastating load.

Wow, you aren't kidding. I would prefer a tighter group/pattern to avoid hitting guts, though.

Comment

I’d say your lead did what you wanted it to do. I’ve killed a few deer with a shotgun. I’ve killed more hogs than deer. It does the job with more efficiently than rifle 50 and in

Comment

Originally posted by ShoootLow View Post
        Wow, you aren't kidding. I would prefer a tighter group/pattern to avoid hitting guts, though.

Don’t get much tighter than that at almost 60 yards on a young doe. Remember, 14/18 pellets hit.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment