Hearing Protection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hearing Protection

This will be my 1st rifle with a muzzle brake and was checking to see what everyone is using. In the past, I've always used muffs when practicing and nothing when hunting. Will probably double up with plugs and muffs at the bench (under metal awning) but don't want to hunt with muffs....just some kind of plug. Anybody use the electronic plugs?

24" barrel 300 win mag with a gill style brake

I've been using the Surefire Sonic Defender plugs for a couple of years now. They have been comfortable enough to wear around for most of the day when I'm hunting. I also use them under a set of Walker's electronic muffs when I am at the range.

Comment

Howard Leight Impact Sport Electronic Earmuffs
      I really like these

Comment

Howard Leight Impact Sports are fantastic at a great price point but if price isn’t an issue MSA Sordin Supreme Pro X’s are supposed to be insanely nice. The Howard lights start to hurt your ears after about an hour or two but you can buy gel cups from Noise Fighters

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

My howard's didn't hold up and they never seated around my ears properly. Might have got a bad set but I wouldn't recommend. I am going to try the walker razor slims next.

Comment

What? . I've never used any hearing protection

Comment

If you want to blissfully shoot, put plugs in then cover with Peltor electronic muffs. It’s great.

Comment

A had a pair of the Howard’s a long time ago. They are ok for about 30 min then they hurt your ears. I had to have muffs I could wear for 8-12 hours a day at a match. The MSA Sordins with the gel cup inserts are the only way to go. I also hunt with them on, religiously. Even when I’m suppressed, I still have them on hunting. I have some high frequency hearing loss in my left ear from hunting/shooting so much as a kid and teenager. I never fire a shot from a centerfire caliber now without hearing protection.