Clothing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clothing

Just wondering your thoughts on a good brand of pants and jacket that will keep me warm this winter. New to bow hunting. I have the scent blocker base layer. What should I add to it?

Welcome to TBH!

Wind-stop fleece is nice. 'Depends on what you want to spend and the application.

Comment

I don't have a problem spending the money if it's going to work and last. I'll mainly be hunting out of ground blinds and tripod stands.

Comment

Most of my jeans and shirts are Wrangler. The jacket I wear most often is Carhart. I like all the Under Armor stuff. I can't afford much of it, but what I do have is all good gear.

Comment

I personally like the scent look full season. I've been using them for 5 years now with no problem and they still look new. I didn't buy it for there name(actually got the set half off on sale) but for the thickness and material. It's quiet while moving and thick enough to wear by itself into the mid to low 50's but not to thick that you can't can't wear it when it's in the mid to high 70's. Once it gets below 50 I'll put on some wool base layers and I'm good down to the 20's. If it's hotter than than 80's I wear some thinner camo. Hope this helps.

Comment

Lots of good clothes, but very few good quiet clothes. If you can scratch down it with your finger and hear it, it is too loud. A lot of fleece stuff has liners that are loud. For bow hunting you need to touch and feel before you buy. I have some Wall coveralls that are warm and quiet. It is a very hard combo that gun hunters don't have to worry about.

Comment

Originally posted by BrianL View Post