HELP- My hogs tase like dookey!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP- My hogs tase like dookey!

I am a pretty good cook. I can make a brisket that will make you sin. Same on other foods, but I have tried everything I have heard on prepping wild pig for a palatable resolution and OMG! It is disgusting! What I have done is the water in the Ice chest thing where you drain the old water and add new ice to let all the blood out.

Ideas?

Just want to make sure you are not letting the meat sit in water, whether cold or not, and have your cooler elevated at the non-plug end to make sure the water drains out as the ice melts. The pork should not sit in water for any period of time IMHO. I probably butcher 10 hogs a year (not many by some standards) but never have a problem with the taste. Get them on ice quickly and don't let them sit in water and they should be good.

Comment

First, did it have one of those things hanging off the back end that resembled a catchers mitt hanging off a pigs butt ???. If so, I've never been able to get one of those to not taste like you described. I too have done all the wives tale remedies to make it taste like a sow and nothing has worked yet.

Comment

every time I have gotten a stinky boar....no matter what I did....it tasted like a stinky boar.....I try not to put holes in the stinky boars...if I do....I leave the stink for the buzzards....

Comment

maybe you've got H1N1A

Comment

Originally posted by RR 314 View Post
            Just want to make sure you are not letting the meat sit in water, whether cold or not, and have your cooler elevated at the non-plug end to make sure the water drains out as the ice melts. The pork should not sit in water for any period of time IMHO. I probably butcher 10 hogs a year (not many by some standards) but never have a problem with the taste. Get them on ice quickly and don't let them sit in water and they should be good.
            +1